Author Krueger wins fifth Minnesota Book Award


Mystery writer William Kent Krueger won his fifth Minnesota Book Award Saturday night, which ties the record set last year by novelist Louise Erdrich, according to media reports.

Krueger won in the Genre Fiction category for his novel, "Tamarack County."

A record 960 people attended the 26th annual Book Awards gala held at St. Paul Union Depot, which was emceed by John Moe, author and Minnesota Public Radio host of "Wits." the Pioneer Press says. 

There were 242 books nominated this year, with 32 selected as finalists, the Star Tribune reported.

Here's a look at the other winners:

– Children's Literature: David LaRochelle, who was competing against himself with two of the four books nominated in children's literature, won his third Book Award for "Moo!"

– General Nonfiction: Jack El-Hai won his second book award for "The Nazi and the Psychiatrist: Hermann Göring, Dr. Douglas M. Kelley and a Fatal Meeting of Minds at the End of World War II."

– Memoir and Creative Nonfiction: Melanie Hoffert won for her book, "Prairie Silence."

– Minnesota: "Modern Spirit: The Art of George Morrison" by Kristin Makholm won.

– Novel and Short Story: Ethan Rutherford's "The Peripatetic Coffin and Other Stories."

– Poetry: "Black Aperture" by Matt Rasmussen.

– Young People's Literature: Carrie Mesrobian's "Sex & Violence.

Also at the awards gala: Mark Vinz received the previously announced Kay Sexton Award for his lifelong contributions to literature in Minnesota. Fred Hagstrom received the Book Artist Award. Gwen Westerman and Bruce White were awarded the biennial Hognander Minnesota History Award for "MniSota Makoce: The Land of the Dakota."

The Book Awards are put on by the nonprofit Friends of the Saint Paul Public Library, which is dedicated to supporting the St. Paul Public Library.

Next Up

denny dempsey

Burnsville priest identified as bicyclist killed in Rosemount

The church says he was doing what he loved: riding his bike.

Matt Dumba

Wild open road trip with win over Canucks

At 5-1, only the St. Louis Blues (5-0) are off to a better start in the Western Conference than the Wild.

moose minnesota usfws - flickr

MN homeowner mistakes large tent for dead moose

They spotted two people on a security camera dragging the "moose" across a driveway.

Flickr - minneapolis police officer close-up belt camera - Tony Webster

What happens if Mpls. public safety question passes? City memo provides answers

The memo was sent to the mayor and council members Tuesday morning.


COVID-19 hits Minnesota Wild coaching staff

The Wild will be shorthanded for Tuesday night's game in Vancouver.

Anthony Edwards

Ant takes alpha role after bad loss: 'We need to lock the f*** in'

The Timberwolves' rising star was not happy after Monday's loss to the Pelicans.

parker eisinger

Lakeville football player diagnosed with cancer week before playoffs

The tenth-grader was diagnosed with a form of cancer most commonly found in people aged 65 and older.

University of Minnesota peeping tom suspect

Someone keeps trying to film showering women at U of M

The university has received three reports in the past two weeks.

john Fluevog shoes 1

John Fluevog Shoes closes its Uptown Minneapolis store

The brand could return to the Twin Cities one day.

sidecar drink

Sidecar — Town Hall's new cocktail lounge — is officially open in Minneapolis

It's the fifth Town Hall location, but the first to focus on cocktails.