St. Paul author's Minnesota-set novel up for major book award


A mystery story set in small town Minnesota is among the six books up for this year's Edgar Award for best novel, the Washington Post reports.

Written by St. Paul author William Kent Krueger, "Ordinary Grace" follows 13-year-old Frank Drum as tragedy unexpectedly strikes his family in the fictional town of New Bremen, Minnesota, in the summer of 1961.

Told from the perspective of Frank 40 years later, the New York Times best-selling novel tells how the boy was forced to grow up after he encounters an adult world full of secrets, lies, adultery and betrayal.

In an interview with the Star Tribune last year, Krueger – known for his best-selling Cork O'Connor mystery book series set in the northern Minnesota woods – recalled memories of small towns in his youth to create the fictional southern community "Ordinary Grace" takes place in.

The Pioneer Press also interviewed Krueger about the book after its release.

Krueger's book has been lauded by several critics, as well as fellow mystery writer Dennis Lehane ("Mystic River").

Presented every year by the Mystery Writers of America, the Edgar Award is named for legendary author Edgar Allan Poe.

The 2014 Edgar Awards will be announced May 1 in New York City. Also in the running in the best novel category are "How the Light Gets In," by Louise Penny; "The Humans," by Matt Haig; "Sandrine's Case," by Thomas H. Cook; "Standing in Another Man's Grave," by Ian Rankin; and "Until She Comes Home," by Lori Roy.

Next Up

vote, vote now

MN Supreme Court dismisses attempt to block election certification

Another legal defeat for Republicans challenging the election.

prison, Rush City cell block

Another Minnesota prison inmate dies after COVID-19 diagnosis

The virus has killed at least six Minnesota inmates.

leech lake band of ojibwe sign

11,760 acres of land wrongly taken from Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe will be returned

The Senate and now the House have passed a bill that effectively returns the land. It's now headed for the president's signature.

Karl-Anthony Towns

Timberwolves release first half of 2020-21 regular season schedule

The second half of the schedule will be announced at a later date.

reindeer como zoo

Watch live: Como Zoo's live reindeer cam is back for December

The live feed will run 24/7 allowing you to keep an eye on Santa's antlered helpers.


Three simple ways to boost your immune health heading into winter

Eating right is one thing, but there are other ways to stay healthy as the days shorten.

Taylor Rogers

Why Twins fans shouldn't give up on Taylor Rogers

The Twins closer struggled in 2020 but could rebound next season.

Co. Rd. 2 crash, Wakefield Twp.

Teen driver leaves road, crashes into three trees

Fortunately, the 16-year-old was not injured.

mndot deer  tunnel 1

Minnesota is getting its first highway crossing for animals

This will provide a safe way for animals to cross the street, and hopefully limit deer-vehicle collisions.