Skip to main content

Surprise! Prince releases new album – 'HitNRun Phase 2'


The Purple One surprised fans by dropping a new album on Saturday with no warning.

"HitNRun Phase Two" – the second installment to "HitNRun Phase One" that was released back in September – was made available to stream and download on the music-streaming service Tidal, Pitchfork says.

The album, which Slate describes as full of "bright, dance-inflected rock," features singles he's shared before – "Baltimore," "Screwdriver," "Stare" and "RockNRoll Love Affair" – but have been reworked for the 12-track album, RollingStone says. It also includes songs that have been performed live, but never released commercially, and other new songs.

The Pioneer Press says "Phase Two" sounds much more organic than "Phase One," which got mixed reviews, and features a 16-member horn section.

Non-Tidal users can listen to clips of songs from the new album here or they can purchase both phases of "HitNRun" (totaling 23 tracks) for $14.99, Billboard notes.

Next Up

mpd suspect 12.3.21 - 1 - CROP

MPD releases photos of shooting suspect, asks for public's help

The man is wanted in connection with a fatal shooting that happened Wednesday evening.

redmons popcorn colbert 2

Support grows for Redmon's Popcorn after shop's sudden closure

The county also commented on the situation, saying it hopes to help owner Zack Redmon.

prior lake high school

Prior Lake HS investigating another 'racist' video involving student

The principal said the social media video was reported to them this week.

Screen Shot 2021-12-03 at 3.08.27 PM

Walz: Minnesota has secured 1 million rapid, at-home COVID tests for kids

It comes as the delta variant continues to surge in Minnesota, and the omicron variant might follow.

boundary waters

Forest Service limiting permits to BWCAW due to damage, overcrowding

Visitors have been cutting down trees and have been forced to compete for campsites.

police lights

Lockdown update: Armed man threatened to go to Kimball High School

A high school and elementary school near St. Cloud went into lockdown as a precaution.

chaska sewer

People in Chaska are flushing the wrong crap down the toilet

Water and sewer crews in Chaska have had to clean the same pump four times in the past seven days.

Brian O'Neill

Matthew Coller: What if the Vikings didn't have Detroit?

The Lions have been like two freebies on the Vikings' schedule the past three seasons.

water drain

MN will get $116M for water projects as part of infrastructure package

Nationwide, $7.4 billion will be distributed for projects next year.


3rd teenage death from COVID-19 reported in Minnesota

All three of the teenage deaths have occurred in the past three months.

crowne plaza hotel minneapolis mn

Former downtown Minneapolis Crowne Plaza to become boutique hotel

The hotel closed at the start of the COVID-19 pandemic and never reopened.