The track listing for the 'Cities 97 Sampler' is out – who made the cut?


The track listing for the 27th edition of the ever-popular Cities 97 Sample has been revealed.

Leona Lewis, Elle King, Echosmith and the omnipresent Vance Joy have made the cut for "Cities 97 Sampler Vol. 27," which will go on sale with its customary limited run next month, Cities 97 announced.

After putting 35,000 on sale last year and 40,000 a year earlier for its 25th anniversary, just 30,000 CDs will be on sale this time around, according to an iHeartMedia press release. However, for the first time 5,000 of these will be made available online.

There will be 25,000 copies on sale in Target stores starting at 8 a.m. on Tuesday, Nov. 17, with the online copies available four days earlier, from 9 a.m. on Nov. 13 at

"Purchasing online is a new addition to the Cities Sampler this year," iHeartMedia director of events Barb Neren said. "We are excited to give our out of state listeners the opportunity to experience Cities 97 Sampler Vol. 27 through our website."

This year, the CD will cost $22.97 each, with $1 from every Sampler sold going to Children's Hospitals and Clinics of Minnesota.

The rest of the proceeds will go towards other Minnesota charities, with this year's limited release expected to generate $660,000 – bringing the Samplers' total fundraising over its 27 years to $12 million, according to Cities 97.

Copies of the disc in previous years have typically sold out within a few hours.

A release party for the CD will be held Thursday, Nov. 19 at Myth in Maplewood, featuring a performance from Sampler-act ZZ Ward.

Here's this year's listing.

  1. Rachel Platten – Fight Song
  2. Matt Hires – Hold You Up
  3. Vance Joy – Riptide
  4. ZZ Ward – Love 3X
  5. Walk the Moon – Shut Up And Dance
  6. O.A.R. – Peace
  7. Andrew McMahon in the Wilderness – Cecilia and the Satellite
  8. Jamie Scott – Story Of My Life
  9. Colbie Caillat – Try
  10. Sheppard – Geronimo
  11. Elle King – Ex's & Oh's
  12. Mat Kearney – Billion
  13. Echosmith – Bright
  14. Nate Reuss – Great Big Storm
  15. Meiko – Be Mine
  16. Nick Fradiani – Beautiful Life
  17. Leona Lewis – Thunder

Next Up