What's the good word? The winners at the Minnesota Book Awards



The best of the best from Minnesota authors in 2015 was honored at the 28th annual Minnesota Book Awards over the weekend.

Put on by The Friends of the St. Paul Public Library, more than 900 people were at the awards show in St. Paul Saturday, the group says.

Eligible books were those written by a Minnesotan and first published in 2015. A total of 252 books were nominated, 32 were picked as finalists, and winners were picked by a panel of judges from around the state. Here's a look at the winners:

Award for Children’s Literature

Michael Hall – "Red: A Crayon’s Story"

Award for General Nonfiction

Ryan Berg – "No House to Call My Home: Love, Family and Other Transgressions"

Award for Genre Fiction

Ellen Hart – "The Grave Soul"

Award for Memoir & Creative Nonfiction

Karen Babine – "Water and What We Know: Following the Roots of a Northern Life"

Award for Minnesota

Larry Millett – "Minnesota Modern: Architecture and Life at Midcentury"

Award for Novel & Short Story

Charles Baxter – "There’s Something I Want You to Do"

Award for Poetry

Ray Gonzalez – "Beautiful Wall"

Award for Young People’s Literature

Shannon Gibney – "See No Color"

Book Artist Award (previously announced)

Wendy Fernstrum – "One is the Holiest Number (#2)"

Hognander Minnesota History Award (previously announced)

William D. Green – Degrees of Freedom: The Origins of Civil Rights in Minnesota, 1865-1912

Kay Sexton Award (previously announced)

Jim Sitter

Next Up