Skip to main content

8 Minnesota schools – 6 in Brainerd – honored with national award

  • Author:
  • Updated:

Eight Minnesota schools, including six from Brainerd, are being recognized for making progress in closing achievement gaps or for their exemplary academic performance.

The National Blue Ribbon School Award is one of the highest honors handed out by the U.S. Department of Education – 287 public and 50 private schools nationwide received the award Tuesday, according to a news release.

"We’re seeing something unique in this year’s winners – multiple winning schools from a single district in a single year, or in recent years. That tells us these schools have figured out something special and important: how to move the needle not for just the kids in one school, but for kids in schools across the district," Minnesota Commissioner of Education Brenda Cassellius said in a news release.

Minnesota's 2014 Blue Ribbon Schools for exemplary high-performing schools:

The award is given to these schools because they're among Minnesota's highest-performing schools based on state assessments or nationally normed tests.

Minnesota's 2014 Blue Ribbon Schools for exemplary achievement gap closing schools:

  • Garfield Elementary, Brainerd Public School District.
  • Harrison Elementary, Brainerd Public School District.
  • Riverside Elementary, Brainerd Public School District.
  • A.C.G.C. Elementary, Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City School District.

These schools are among Minnesota's highest performing schools in closing the achievement gaps between a school's subgroups and all students over the past five years.

Minnesota has been said to have one of the country's widest achievement disparities between students of color and their white classmates – test scores for students of color are up to 30 percent lower than their white peers.

The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program recognizes public and private elementary, middle and high schools based on their overall academic excellence or their progress in closing achievement gaps. In the program's 32-year history, more than 7,500 schools across the country have been presented with the award.

The Department of Education will honor all 337 Blue Ribbon schools at a recognition ceremony in November. Check out this interactive map of all the schools.

Numerous Minnesota schools have received these awards in the past. Last year's winners included Garfield Elementary School, Alexandria School District; Hanover Elementary School, Buffalo-Hanover-Montrose School District; International Spanish Language Academy in Minnetonka; and Winsted Elementary School, Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted Public Schools.

Click here to see all past winners.

Next Up

School dinners lunch

Minnesota to offer free school meals to 90,000 extra students

Gov. Tim Walz, who is facing re-election in November, announced the measure on Monday.


Minneapolis man dies from injuries days after motorcycle pileup

The 69-year-old died after four days at Regions Hospital.

Sebastion Wolbersen-O’Hara

Police: 15-year-old missing from home north of Twin Cities

Authorities say he may be headed to the metro.


Foundation, the building, the win

Identifying Value Plus Catalysts helps your financial strategy and foundation

boating minnesota lake

25-year-old Hopkins man drowns after falling off boat

The man reportedly fell from the boat while fishing with friends.

mayor frey city minneapolis live stream march 14 2022

What's in Mayor Jacob Frey's budget proposal?

Here's a breakdown of what the Minneapolis mayor is focusing on in 2023-24.

Low, Mimi Parker

Low cancels Europe shows due to Mimi Parker's cancer treatment

The Duluth band says the decision follows 'recent changes' in Parker's treatment.

Screen Shot 2022-08-15 at 11.09.39 AM

Wisconsin man admits to 1992 revenge killings 15 years after boyhood tragedy

The 52-year-old man is in custody 30 years after the 1992 double murder.


school, classroom, students

8 Minnesota schools honored with national Blue Ribbon

Four Twin Cities schools and four in Greater Minnesota received the honor from the U.S. Department of Education.