All but one Democratic House member from Minnesota voted to impeach President Trump

Rep. Collin Peterson was the only DFL holdout.
Publish date:

President Donald Trump has become the third president in U.S. history to be impeached by the House of Representatives.

The House passed two impeachment articles against the president, for abuse of power and obstruction of Congress, with the votes falling mainly along party lines. The abuse of power impeachment vote passed 230-197, with obstruction of Congress passing 229-198.

Democrats in the House felt that the president's efforts to solicit an investigation into potential election rival and former Vice-President Joe Biden from the Ukraine in exchange for military aid was an abuse of power.

They also considered his refusal to cooperate with the impeachment inquiry, withholding documentary evidence and preventing officials from giving evidence to be obstruction of Congress.

Minnesota Democratic Reps. Betty McCollum, Angie Craig, Ilhan Omar and Dean Phillips all voted in favor of the charges.

But 7th District Rep. Collin Peterson, who represents a district that Trump carried easily in 2016, voted against both charges. He was one of only two Democrats to vote against the abuse of power article, with the other – Rep. Jeff Van Drew – set to become a Republican in the coming days.

He told WCCO's Pat Kessler that "history will show this to be a mistake" and that the Senate will "make short work of an acquittal."

His latter statement will likely prove true, given the Republican Party controls the Senate and leading senators including Mitch McConnell and Lindsay Graham have announced their support for the president even before the Senate trial begins.

Rep. Omar, on the other hand, said impeachment was inevitable given the evidence provided before House members.

"Donald Trump has abused the public trust and overpassed the bounds of his authority. He has used the office of the presidency for his own personal political gain," she said.

"We in the United States House of Representatives have proceeded with caution and investigation. As a member of the House Committee on Foreign Affairs, I listened deliberately to depositions as witness after witness laid out in detail the President’s abuse of power."

Sign up: Subscribe to our BREAKING NEWS newsletters

Minnesota's Republican Reps. Pete Stauber, Tom Emmer and Jim Hagedorn all voted against impeachment.

Both Reps. Emmer and Stauber argue that impeachment should not proceed as there is not a single vote from Republicans in favor of it.

However, Rep. Justin Amash of Michigan left the Republican Party to become an independent in July, and voted to impeach the president on Wednesday.

Earlier on Wednesday, President Trump called the impeachment process an "assault on the Republican Party."

Next Up