Skip to main content

Amy Klobuchar qualifies for Democratic debates this fall

The Minnesota senator announced she had qualified Friday.

Minnesota Senator Amy Klobuchar will be on the debate stage this fall, but the same can’t be said for many of the other candidates in the crowded field.

This week’s debates, spread out over two nights, saw 20 candidates attempt to make their case for the Democratic nomination.

Klobuchar pushed more moderate policy positions than some of her opponents, especially on issues like Medicare for All and tuition-free public college. She also emphasized her ability to win in red states and her record of bipartisanship.

But while the most recent debates required two nights, that could change come fall. According to a Thursday New York Times article, only eight candidates have qualified so far, including Klobuchar. If ten candidates have not qualified by Aug. 28, the debate will take place over just one night.

The threshold to qualify for the fall debates requires candidates to receive donations from 130,000 individual donors and poll at above 2 percent in qualifying polls. Klobuchar’s campaign announced Friday that it had reached the donations threshold less than 48 hours after Klobuchar took the debate stage Tuesday.

According to a press release, July was Klobuchar's strongest fundraising month since she announced her campaign in February. 

Sign up: Subscribe to our daily newsletters

“Amy’s debate performances have shown exactly why she is the strongest candidate to take on Donald Trump and she will continue to hold him accountable for his divisiveness and empty promises,” said Klobuchar campaign manager Justin Buoen in a statement.

"As she takes the stage again this fall, voters will hear about her optimistic agenda and plans to make progress on the challenges and opportunities we face as a nation.

Per the New York Times, other candidates to qualify for the fall debates are former Vice President Joe Biden; New Jersey Senator Cory Booker; South Bend, Indiana Mayor Pete Buttigieg; California Senator Kamala Harris; Former Texas Representative Beto O’Rourke; Vermont Senator Bernie Sanders and Massachusetts Senator Elizabeth Warren. 

Next Up

Screen Shot 2022-11-29 at 7.26.15 AM

Multiple crashes, spinouts in Twin Cities as snow falls Tuesday morning

The metro could get up to six inches of snow throughout the day.

Screen Shot 2022-11-28 at 5.39.25 PM

Couple critically injured in Kanabec County home attack identified

Jeff and Becky Ponto were found critically injured in their home Sunday morning.

police tape

Assault charges filed against Red Wing man shot by deputy

The reportedly suicidal man crashed his van into a power pole before he allegedly began chasing a deputy at the scene.

Winter scene snow storm snowfall highway driving traffic - Joe Nelson Feb 2022 4

Winter storm warning for Twin Cities: 6+ inches possible

The heaviest snow could move through the Twin Cities.

police lights

Carver man charged after standoff with police in Prior Lake

The man had been fleeing from police when he allegedly broke into a home and the standoff ensued.


41-year-old Sherburne County man killed after crashing car into ditch

The crash occurred Sunday night in Palmer Township.

Screen Shot 2022-11-28 at 4.01.10 PM

Around 200 rescued after ice breaks free on Upper Red Lake

Red Lake — both Upper and Lower — is the largest freshwater lake in the state.

Screen Shot 2022-11-28 at 9.38.30 AM

St. Paul featured on Hallmark Channel's 'Christmas Cam' livestream

Downtown's dazzling display can be viewed from anywhere in the world.


Charges: Drunk driver almost struck Bemidji parade spectators

The man told police he was trying to attend the parade himself.


The SCHEELS Experience

Whether looking for reliable hunting and fishing gear or new clothing and shoes, Eden Prairie SCHEELS is a one-stop shopping experience for the whole family.


Screen Shot 2019-07-31 at 8.42.12 AM

How did Amy Klobuchar do in Tuesday night's debate?

The senator stuck to her more moderate policies, emphasizing her electability in a still crowded field.


How did Amy Klobuchar do in Wednesday night's debate?

The Minnesota Senator pushed more middle-of-the-road policies than her opponents.


How did Amy Klobuchar do in the Democratic debate?

Klobuchar debated candidates on issues including foreign policy, climate change and healthcare.


Amy Klobuchar now polling in double digits in Iowa

The senator is gaining some ground in a crowded field.

Screen Shot 2019-09-13 at 7.38.42 AM

What did Amy Klobuchar say during the Democratic debate?

She joined her presidential rivals for the live debate on Thursday evening.

Amy klobuchar

Amy Klobuchar's presidential bid boosted by fundraising spike

Klobuchar more than doubled her numbers from the previous quarter.


Klobuchar reveals plan to fix America's infrastructure

The senator says it will be her top priority if she becomes president.


Amy Klobuchar still in the running as polls tighten in Iowa

The Minnesota senator received a boost in the polls after her debate performance.