Coronavirus: Ahead of statewide shutdown, some schools to close Monday and Tuesday too

A growing number are announcing closures even before Wednesday.
Publish date:

Gov. Tim Walz announced Sunday morning that schools across Minnesota will embark on eight days of closures starting Wednesday, but some districts aren't waiting until then.

The governor said that the decision to wait until Wednesday to close was partly to give schools "ample time to distribute any supplies/medications to students before they're sent home for 10 days."

But already a number of school districts have announced that they will be closing on Monday and Tuesday as well.

St. Paul Public Schools has announced it will close on Monday and Tuesday, with parents expected to receive specific instructions on distance learning in the near future.

The North St. Paul-Maplewood-Oakdale district had already announced closures for Monday and Tuesday as early as Friday, saying: "Based on new CDC guidelines, district leaders need to assess who needs to self-quarantine following spring break travel."

Eden Prairie Schools has made the same move, saying that it's planning for distance learning to start on Wednesday.

Meanwhile Minneapolis Public Schools plans to open on Monday "to help staff and families prepare," but will close on Tuesday, with the intention that classes resume Apr. 6, after the spring break holiday.

Sign up for our BREAKING NEWS newsletters

In the Northland, the St. Louis County Public Schools district said schools would remain open Monday and Tuesday, but say it's fine for parents to keep kids home. Virginia Public Schools and Eveleth-Gilbert Schools are also staying open, per the Mesabi Daily News.

Here's a few of the other school districts that have announced closures for Monday and Tuesday. We'll try and update this, but may fall behind, so we would advise you check your child's school's website.

  • South Washington County Schools.
  • Cambridge-Isanti Schools.
  • St. Paul Public Schools
  • Eden Prairie Schools
  • North St. Paul-Maplewood-Oakdale
  • Wayzata Schools.
  • Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan schools.
  • Brainerd Public Schools.

Next Up