Governor Dayton declares State of Emergency for 36 Minnesota counties hit by severe weather

A series of severe weather has been ongoing since June 9 in Minnesota.
Publish date:
Updated on

Torrential rains and severe storms plaguing Minnesota over the last month have resulted in Governor Mark Dayton on Monday enacting a State of Emergency for 36 impacted counties. 

Dayton said that widespread locations across the state have been hammered by a "series of severe summer storms producing torrential rains, flash flooding, high winds and tornadoes" since June 9. 

The 36 counties in Dayton's emergency declaration: Aitkin, Becker, Beltrami, Blue Earth, Brown, Carlton, Cass, Clearwater, Cottonwood, Faribault, Fillmore, Freeborn, Jackson, Kittson, Lake, Lyon, Mahnomen, Martin, Mille Lacs, Mower, Murray, Nicollet, Nobles, Pine, Pipestone, Polk, Red Lake, Redwood, Renville, Rock, Sibley, Stearns, Stevens, St. Louis, Waseca, and Watonwan and the Red Lake Nation. 

All 36 will now receive assistance from the Department of Homeland Security and Division of Homeland Security Emergency Management. 

The most recent weather extremes hit this week, with copious amounts of rain producing flash flooding in southwest Minnesota on Tuesday, and a tornado touchdown in Bemidji on Wednesday. 

Next Up