Skip to main content

Honors for citizens, troopers who helped those in danger

  • Author:
  • Updated:

It's pretty rare to face a life-or-death situation on a Minnesota roadway. But in case you are, it's comforting to know there are some heroic people out there willing to help you.

On Monday the Minnesota State Patrol honored citizens and troopers who went above and beyond to save people's lives.

Meritorious Citizenship Awards were given to everyday people who did some extraordinary things.

Robert Renning was recognized for flagging down a motorist whose vehicle was on fire. When the locks and windows failed, Renning bent the door frame with his bare hands and pulled the passenger out through the window of the flaming vehicle, which earned him the title of "real-life Superman" by the media.

David Baxely was another citizen recognized. The National Guard member ran to a burning vehicle overturned in a crash, cut the driver's seat belt and pulled him out of the car.

Mark Toms, Laci Siljord and Sgt. Scott Parker also received an award for saving a northern Minnesota man who had a heart attack while driving and crashed his car. Robert Zobel received the Minnesota State Patrol Commendation Award for responding to the incident as well.

Toms, a retired firefighter; Zobel, an off-duty fireman; and Silgjord, a nurse, were able to pull the man from his car and perform CPR. When Sgt. Parker came to the scene, he used his AED until the first responders came.

Other awards include:

Minnesota State Patrol Commendation Award: Scott County Deputy Michael Turek

Life Saving Award:

  • Trp. Patric Ignaszewiski and Trp. Ricardo Magana (Life Saving Award), Faribault Police Officer Benjamin Johns (Minnesota State Patrol Commendation Award)
  • Sgt. Calvin Michaels
  • Trp. Ben Uzlik and Trp. Andrew Gibb
  • Trp. Shaun Leshovsky
  • Sgt. Mike Engum
  • Lt. Brad Bordwell

Meritorious Service Award and Chief’s Commendation Award – Communications/911:

  • Trp. Brian Beuning (Meritorious Award), and RCO Andrea Fletcher and RCO Brian Gaddis (Chief’s Commendation Award for Communications/911)
  • Trp. Mark Lund (Meritorious Award)
  • Trp. Shaun Stang (Meritorious Award) and Kanabec County Deputy Mark Schafer (Minnesota State Patrol Commendation Award)
  • Sgt. Chris Daas (Meritorious Award)

Exceptional Service Award:

  • Trp. Philip Jergenson
  • Trp. Thomas Erickson
  • Trp. Curt Thurmes
  • Sgt. Dan Holmes
  • Commercial Vehicle Inspector (CVI) II Steve Krueger

Eagle Squadron Award: Trp. Pete Schultz

Leadership Award: Trp. Nick Robertson

Civilian Employee of the Year: Commercial Vehicle Inspector (CVI) III Sergeant Glen Bjornberg

Trooper of the Year: Trp. Joe Dellwo

Next Up

Flickr - police lights squad siren - Edward Kimmel

Former Minnesota Olympic runner accused of driving drunk in Eden Prairie crash

Police said the man's blood alcohol level was three times the legal limit.


Man, 79, killed in ATV rollover near Faribault

The man was declared dead at the scene.

minneapolis police

Woman fighting for her life after shooting in Minneapolis

The woman was shot only about a half-hour after a 14-year-old suffered critical injuries in an apparent accidental discharge.

prior lake high school

Two students face discipline over racist messages at Prior Lake High School

Families and students were largely uncooperative with the investigation.

Sharon and Herb Vasser

Cause of Hopkins house explosion that killed couple revealed

Sharon and Herb Vassar were killed in the explosion. Herb built the home back in 1962.

Arrows on target

Charges: Minnesota camp counselor fired arrows at kids, injuring boy

An 8-year-old boy was shot in the arm with an arrow.

North Shore Mayor Chris Swanson.

Two Harbors votes overwhelmingly to recall Mayor Chris Swanson

The mayor had been scrutinized for several things leading up to the vote Tuesday.

Screen Shot 2022-08-10 at 8.43.50 AM

Suspected gunman at large after homicide near Albert Lea

The 32-year-old suspect was last seen in a 2004 white Ford F-150 with Minnesota license number EUZ-057.

Ettinger and Finstad

Brad Finstad (R) edges out Jeff Ettinger (D) in CD-1 special election

Finstad will serve out the remaining months of the late Jim Hagedorn's term, before facing Ettinger again in November.

Gov. Tim Walz and Scott Jensen.

Minnesota primary 2022: Results from MN's statewide, congressional races

Minnesotans have voted and set the stage for the November elections.

Omar Samuels

Rep. Ilhan Omar defeats Don Samuels in contentious primary

Unofficial results for one of Minnesota's most-watched primary races are in.