Klobuchar, Smith hang on to their Senate seats

Both of the incumbent Democrats beat their GOP challengers Tuesday night.
Publish date:

Minnesota will continue to be represented by Democrats in the U.S. Senate, as both Amy Klobuchar and Tina Smith emerged victorious on election night.

Sen. Klobuchar has been projected to beat Republican challenger Jim Newberger by a wide margin, while Sen. Smith is projected to defeat Karin Housley in a special election for Al Franken's former Senate seat. 

Smith, the former lieutenant governor of Minnesota, was appointed to fill in for Franken following his resignation earlier this year. She'll be finishing out his term, meaning she'll be up for reelection in 2020.

Next Up