Skip to main content

All 13 Minneapolis City Council seats were up for grabs during Tuesday's elections, with the city's residents weighing in via ranked-choice voting. As of 10:30 p.m. Tuesday, the Secretary of State's Office showed all precincts reporting in each of the city council races.

Unofficial vote tallies show five seats still undecided after the first-place votes were counted. That means ranked choice voting tabulation in these races begins Wednesday morning. (You can read more about the process here.)

As the morning after gets underway, here's where each of the Minneapolis City Council races stands.

Ward 1

No winner after first-choice votes counted, with Elliott Payne at 48.23% of first-choice votes and incumbent Kevin Reich at 42.86%. Tabulation will continue Wednesday.

Ward 2

No winner after first-choice votes counted. Challenger Robin Wonsley Worlobah leads with 29.04% of first-place votes, with fellow challenger Yusra Arab just behind at 28.49%. Incumbent Cam Gordon sits at 26.36%

Ward 3

No winner after first-choice votes counted. Michael Rainville leads with 45.11% of first-place votes, ahead of incumbent Steve Fletcher who is at 39.23%.

Ward 4

LaTrisha Vetaw unseated incumbent Phillipe M. Cunningham, taking 60.63% of first-place votes. Cunningham made history in 2017 by becoming one of the first openly transgender men to be elected to public office in the United States.

Ward 5

No winner after first-choice votes counted. Current Council Member Jeremiah Ellison leads with 31.98% of the first-place votes, but two challengers are a hair behind: Kristel Porter at 24.79% and Victor Martinez at 24.64%.

Ward 6

Council Member Jamal Osman won re-election with 59.41% of first-place votes over challenger A. Bihi (41.43%)

Ward 7

Lisa Goodman remains the longest-serving Minneapolis council member, winning re-election with 61.91% of first-place votes.

Ward 8

Andrea Jenkins posted a resounding win over challenger Bob Sullentrop, pulling in 84.92% of first-place votes.

Ward 9

The DFL-endorsed Jason Chavez will take over the Ward 9 seat, garnering 56.89% of first-place votes. Current Council Member Alondra Cano did not run for re-election.

Ward 10

No winner after first-choice votes counted. Leading the pack after the tallying of first-place votes is Aisha Chughtai at 36.93%. Katie Jones is in second at 19.58%, with Alicia Gibson at 18.74% and Chris Parsons pulling in 15.12%. Incumbent and council president Lisa Bender did not run for re-election.

Ward 11

Emily Koski earned 58.33% of first-place votes, knocking off incumbent Jeremy Schroeder (who got 30.32% of the vote).

Ward 12 

Incumbent Andrew Johnson handily won re-election with 64.83% of first-place votes.

Ward 13

Current Council Member Linea Palmisano was re-elected, taking 66.19% of the first-place votes.

Next Up

police tape

Charges: Man killed brother, left body in homemade camper for 7 months

James Robert Hess, 48, faces second-degree murder charges for the death of his 52-year-old brother, William Harold Hess Jr.


Minnesota forecast: Hot, humid and severe storm chances

Bring Me The News meteorologist Sven Sundgaard says right now the best chance for storms looks like Sunday/Sunday night.

Thai Cultural Council of Minnesota

Minnesota's biggest Thai festival to be hosted in front of State Capitol

The Thai New Year, or Songkran, is one of the most celebrated holidays in Thailand.

police tape, crime scene

Man dies after being shot in the head in St. Cloud

Investigators believe the suspects fled the scene in a vehicle.


Uvalde school massacre: MN Democrats call for action, Republicans prayers

The tragedy in Texas has sparked different reactions from Minnesota's congressional delegation.

Screen Shot 2020-06-15 at 7.11.05 AM

St. Cloud man fires shot at police in hours-long standoff, surrenders

Shawn Lawrence Jacobs, 37, was arrested just before 4 p.m. Tuesday after he surrendered.

New baby zebra at the Como Zoo.

St. Paul's Como Zoo welcomes new baby zebra

The baby is yet to be named, and the zoo is planning an event for visitors to help with the decision.

Screen Shot 2022-05-25 at 11.06.51 AM

Pilfered peony plant prompts police probe

The peony, named Patrick, was taken from Wayzata City Hall gardens.


Minnesota's COVID-19 update for Wednesday, May 25

The latest update from the state health department.


Beloved small town MN baseball field destroyed by severe storm

The mid-May storm system blasted the area with 90+ mph winds.


Minneapolis City Hall

5 Mpls. City Council members ousted as final races are called

Was the election a referendum on the public safety question? The answer is murky.

vote, election

Record early votes in Mpls. as residents tackle ballot questions, mayoral race

There have been more than twice as many early votes cast as in 2017, the last municipal election.

Voting survey vote election

2021 elections: When to expect results from Minneapolis, St. Paul

We might have some unofficial results tonight, but some races could extend to Wednesday.

mayor jacob frey

Jacob Frey re-elected as Minneapolis mayor

After two rounds of tabulation, Frey was named the winner of the ranked-choice ballot.

minneapolis office of mayor sign 2018 - Tony Webster Flickr

Mpls. Ballot Question 1 passes, shifting power from city council to mayor

Its passage upends the city's "weak mayor, strong council" structure that had been in place.