Publish date:

Minnesota schools announce Thursday closures as extreme cold lingers

Many schools have already been closed for three days this week.

Pretty much every school in the state has been closed the last two days because of dangerous cold weather, and it looks like that will continue in some school districts on Thursday.

With the cold not quite ready to exit the state, some schools are already deciding to cancel classes on Thursday.

Air temperatures are expected to be anywhere from 15-35 below zero, with the Twin Cities expected to be between 20-30 below. Meanwhile wind chills will still be life-threateningly cold.

Sign up for our BREAKING WEATHER newsletters

Most schools are expected to make decisions on whether to close by Wednesday afternoon.

Here's a list of schools that have already announced Thursday closures or delays, which will be updated throughout the day.

(Schools are closed Thursday unless otherwise stated in parentheses)

– Anoka-Hennepin Schools (activities and evening classes may start from 2:30 p.m.)

– Aitkin Schools

– Barnum Public Schools

– Belgrade-Brooten-Elrose Schools (start 3 hours late)

– Blackduck Schools

– Blue Earth Area Schools (start 2 hours late)

– Brainerd Public Schools (start 2 hours late)

– Breck School

– Brooklyn Center District

– Browerville Schools (start 2 hours late)

– Buffalo/Hanover/Montrose District (start 2 hours late)

– Byron Public Schools

– Canby Schools (start 2 hours late)

– Cannon Falls School District

– Cass Lake-Bena Schools

– Centennial Public Schools

– Clear Lake School District

– Cloquet Public Schools

– Chisago Lakes School District 

– Columbia Heights District

– Cook County School District

– Dawson-Boyd Schools (start 2 hours late)

– Duluth Public Schools

– Eden Prairie School District (after school activities are still on)

– Esko Public Schools

– Fergus Falls Schools (start 2 hours late)

– Forest Lake District 

– Fridley School District

– Goodhue Public Schools

– Greenway School District

– Henning School District (start 2 hours late)

– Hill City Schools

– Hinckley-Finlayson Schools 

– Intermediate School District 287

– KMS Public Schools (start 2 hours late)

– Lake City District

– LeSueur-Henderson Public Schools

– Litchfield School District (start 2 hours late)

– Mahtomedi Public Schools 

– Marshall School District (start 2 hours late)

– Mesabi East Schools

– Minneapolis Public Schools

– Minnetonka School District

– Minnewaska Schools (start 2 hours late)

– Montevideo Public Schools (start 2 hours late)

– Moose Lake Community School

– Mounds View Public Schools

– Nashwauk-Keewatin Schools

– New London-Spicer Schools (start 2 hours late)

– Northeast Metro District 196 

– North Branch School District

– Orono Public Schools

– Osseo School District (afternoon activities still on)

– Park Rapids School (start 2 hours late)

– Paynesville Area Schools (starts 3 hours late)

– Pierz School District (start 2 hours late)

– Pelican Rapids Schools (start 3 hours late)

– Perham-Dent Public and Private Schools (start 2 hours late)

– Pequot Lakes District (start 2 hours late)

– Pillager District (start 2 hours late)

– Pine City Schools

– Pine River Backus (start 2 hours late)

– Princeton Public Schools (start 2 hours late)

– Prior Lake/Savage Area Schools

– Richfield Public Schools

– Robbinsdale School District

– Rocori Area schools (start 3 hours late)

– Roseville Area Schools

– Rush City Schools

– Sleepy Eye Public (start 3 hours late)

– Spring Lake Park Schools

– Staples-Motley Schools (start 2 hours late)

– Stillwater Area Public Schools (afternoon activities still on)

– St. James Public Schools (starts 3 hours late)

– St. Louis County School District

– St. Louis Park Schools (opening at noon)

– St. Michael-Albertville Public & Parochial (start 2 hours late)

– St. Paul Academy & Summit School (start 2 hours late)

– St. Paul Public Schools

– Superior (Wisconsin) School District

– Triton Public Schools

– Walker-Hackensack-Akeley Schools (start 2 hours late)

– Wayzata Public Schools

– Willmar Public Schools (start 2 hours late)

– White Bear Lake District

Next Up

Yia Vang - media photo - crop 2

Union Hmong Kitchen will move into Mpls. food hall

Chef Yia Vang said they're "so excited to settle in and have a home."

ISSAboveYou - Duluth North Shore - Oct 18 2021

Watch: Mille Lacs, Duluth captured in stunning video from ISS

The space station provides a vantage point 260 miles above the Earth's surface.


Ladies and gentlemen, The Weeknd has canceled his St. Paul show

He's made changes to his 2022 tour that involves scrapping his Xcel Energy Center gig.

Pixabay - police lights, tape

Man released from custody after admitting to fatal shooting in ND

Authorities said there is no threat to the public.


MN water tower in the running for Tank of the Year

It was the only water tank to receive more than 5,000 votes.

first snow

Any sign of snow in the forecast for Minnesota?

The stars could align for some flurries in northern Minnesota this week, but that's about it.

Flickr - 14 year old vaccine shot - Navy Medicine

Walz announces $200 reward for kids 12-17 who get COVID shots

Those ages have the lowest vaccination rates among all eligible age groups.


Schools announce closures ahead of Wednesday snow

Minneapolis and St. Paul are among the districts closing.

Hundreds of schools closed Thursday due to snow, wind

Schools are closing early on Wednesday, and closures are being announced for Thursday.

Governor Tim Walz

Gov. Walz to announce school plans at Thursday press conference

The governor will reveal the state's guidance for school reopenings.

Will extreme cold prompt Gov. Walz to close schools statewide?

Schools also have their own cold day criteria if he doesn't.

Schools close on Friday ahead of 'dangerous' wind chills

Minneapolis and St. Paul public schools are among those canceling classes.

minneapolis public schools

15 Minneapolis schools to move to distance learning due to extreme heat

Distance learning will be in place between Tuesday and Thursday.