Skip to main content

New York removes Minnesota from COVID-19 travel quarantine list

Minnesota was on the list for one week.

There are now 31 states on New York's travel quarantine list, but Minnesota isn't included anymore. 

On Tuesday, Gov. Andrew Cuomo announced that 10 states have been added to the list, which requires all incoming visitors who spend more than 24 hours in New York to quarantine for 14 days upon arrival. 

Minnesota had been on the list for a week, but was removed Tuesday. Wisconsin and North Dakota, however, are among the 10 states added. 

States are added to New York's quarantine mandate if its percent of positive COVID-19 tests exceeds 10 percent or the number of positive cases exceeds 10 per 100,000 residents, both criteria based on a seven-day rolling average.

Minnesota's positive test rate over the past seven days, as of Monday, was 4.40 percent, according to Johns Hopkins University. 

However, according to the latest data from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), there have been 4,287 positive cases in the last seven days (as of Monday) in Minnesota. 

Based on Minnesota's population of approximately 5.64 million, this equates to a total of 74.5 positive cases per 100,000 residents, which as a daily average is 10.8. Despite Minnesota being above the threshold – just barely – it was removed for an unknown reason. 

Airports throughout New York have begun travel enforcement operations to help ensure travelers are following the state's restrictions. The restrictions don't apply to travelers passing through the state for a period of less than 24 hours. 

Sign up for our BREAKING NEWS newsletters

Next Up

DeShaun Hill

Cody Fohrenkam found guilty of Deshaun Hill Jr.'s murder

The 15-year-old was fatally shot on Feb. 9, 2022.

Screen Shot 2023-01-26 at 12.15.23 PM

Gov. Tim Walz proposes $3.3B for aging infrastructure

Walz's borrowing plan comes days after the release of his two-year state budget proposal.

Screen Shot 2023-01-26 at 8.43.35 AM

Children's Theatre Company actors lose belongings in damaging house fire

The fire broke out Tuesday morning shortly after the dryer had been started.

Flickr - Superior National Forest Boundary Waters

Biden Admin. imposes 20-year mining ban near Boundary Waters

The moratorium is the maximum the Department of the Interior can implement without congressional approval.


Historic St. Paul building to be removed, put in storage after public outcry

The building was set to be demolished before community members spoke out against it.


Minnesota's COVID update for the week ending Tuesday, Jan. 24

Hospitalizations dipped for a second week in a row.


Governor Andrew Cuomo

Minnesotans going to New York will now need to quarantine for 14 days

Minnesota has now reached the COVID-19 quarantine threshold, Gov. Andrew Cuomo announced.

Winona State University

'More than 200' COVID-19 cases prompts quarantine at Winona State

The university is imposing a campus quarantine until Sept. 22.

coronavirus, pandemic, masks

Upon return to MSP, travelers from COVID-19 countries say they weren't screened

The mandatory screening for 26 of 28 countries didn't begin until March 14.

coronavirus, covid-19, drive-thru testing

Walz: Minnesota's outbreak could be 8-10 days behind New York

There are more than 2,300 confirmed cases of COVID-19 in New York.


Child under 10 years old dies from COVID-19 in Minnesota

An updated view of the COViD-19 pandemic in Minnesota.

Cowboy Jacks

List of 19 bars in Minnesota linked to COVID-19 outbreaks

The majority of cases linked to the bars are young adults.