Skip to main content
Publish date:

President Trump declares 'major disaster' in 27 storm-hit Minnesota counties

The counties and three tribal lands will be eligible for federal disaster funding.

The White House has declared a major disaster in Minnesota, following the damage and flooding caused by severe storms earlier this summer.

President Donald Trump on Wednesday approved 27 counties and 3 tribal lands as eligible for federal disaster assistance.

He did so at the request of Governor Mark Dayton, who wrote to the president last month after observing the wreckage caused by storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding in southeast and northern Minnesota between June 15 and July 11.

The federal government will reimburse the state for 75 percent of the costs of repairing public infrastructure, including roads damaged in the storms.

Gov. Dayton has said the state will pay for the remaining 25 percent from its emergency contingency fund.

The governor saw first hand the damage wrought by the early summer storms, touring some of the worst-hit areas in July after rivers broke their banks and flooded roads, fields and property, causing millions of dollars of damage.

These images show some of the damage in Murray County in July.

Here are the counties and tribal lands that will be eligible for the funding:

Aitkin, Beltrami, Blue Earth, Brown, Carlton, Cass, Clearwater, Cottonwood, Faribault, Itasca, Jackson, Koochiching, Lake, Lyon, Martin, Murray, Nicollet, Nobles, Pine, Pipestone, Polk, Redwood, Renville, Rock, St. Louis, Sibley, and Watonwan Counties. 

Also, the Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe, Red Lake Nation, and White Earth Nation.

Sign up: Subscribe to our daily newsletters.

Next Up

Adam Thielen

Winless Lions beat Vikings on final play of game

Adam Thielen also left early with an ankle injury

Payton Willis / Gopher Basketball

Gophers improve to 7-0 on Willis' late 3-pointer

The Gophers earned back-to-back road victories for the first time since January 2017.

Flickr - police lights squad siren - Edward Kimmel

Woman in critical condition after being shot in the head in St. Paul

Officers responded to the incident at around 2:45 a.m. Saturday.

Alexander Mattison

Vikings-Lions: 5 things you can count on

It's a great time for the Vikings to play the Lions.


Omicron variant confirmed in Wisconsin man who traveled to South Africa

Five other cases have been confirmed and linked to a Wisconsin wedding.

Sharon Mollerus - duluth - snow plow car

Sunday snowstorm walloping MN's North Shore with huge totals

Just ridiculous snow totals expected the rest of Sunday.

Screen Shot 2021-12-05 at 6.49.03 AM

Saturday snow causes havoc on Twin Cities roads

There were countless spinouts and crashes across Minnesota.

Kirill Kaprizov

Wild win battle of NHL's hottest teams, extend winning streak to six

Kirill Kaprizov delivered a shootout winner to take down the Maple Leafs.

Eric Kendricks

Vikings downgrade Eric Kendricks to out against Lions

The Vikings have also activated Michael Pierce from injured reserve.



President Trump approves Minnesota Major Disaster declaration

Gov. Tim Walz requested the declaration earlier this week.

Feds approve disaster aid for NE Minnesota flood damage

The disaster declaration for 13 Minnesota counties and three tribal nations devastated by flooding in northeastern Minnesota last month was approved Friday by the federal government. The $108 million in aid only covers damage to public infrastructure.

Tim Walz

Coronavirus: Gov. Walz to ask president for Major Disaster Declaration

It's so the state can offer expanded crisis counseling services.

Dayton to request $108M in disaster aid for NE Minnesota floods

Gov. Mark Dayton announced in Duluth Friday that he will ask President Barack Obama for a $108 million disaster declaration stemming from last week's floods in northeastern Minnesota. The money will be used to repair damages sustained by public infrastructure in the 13 counties and three tribal areas affected by the flooding.

SBA approves Dayton's request for NE Minnesota disaster declaration

Gov. Mark Dayton's request for a disaster declaration in Carlton, Pine and St. Louis counties, as well as the Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa, following June's floods, was granted Friday by the Small Business Administration. With the approval, affected homeowners, renters, businesses and not-for-profit organizations can apply for low-interest loans up to $200,000.

Governor declares State of Emergency for 36 Minnesota counties

A series of severe weather has been ongoing since June 9 in Minnesota.

Gov. Walz and Pres. Trump

Gov. Walz asks President Trump for major disaster declaration

Walz sent the letter Sunday, ahead of his State of the State address.