President Trump tells Democrats like Ilhan Omar to go back where they came from

Another Twitter controversy from the president.
Publish date:

President Donald Trump has targeted a group of Democratic congresswomen that includes Minnesota's Ilhan Omar, telling them they should go back to the "crime-infested places from which they came."

The president posted the tweet Sunday morning, not naming any politician by name but referring to a group of "'progressive' Democrat Congresswoman."

It's believed that he's referring to the group of freshman House members that have recently been making waves in the Democratic party, including Omar, Michigan's Rashida Tlaib, Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, and Ayanna Pressley of Massachusetts.

Of those, Omar is the only one not to have been born in the U.S., having come to America as a refugee from Somalia, while Tlaib is a Palestinian-American who was born here. Ocasio-Cortez and Pressley are also U.S. natives of Latin-American and African-American descent respectively.

All four have been outspoken critics of the Trump administration and are among the foremost voices calling for impeachment proceedings against the president.

The president wrote: "So interesting to see 'Progressive' Democrat Congresswomen, who originally came from countries whose governments are a complete and total catastrophe, the worst, most corrupt and inept anywhere in the world (if they even have a functioning government at all), now loudly and viciously telling the people of the United States, the greatest and most powerful Nation on earth, how our government is to be run.

"Why don’t they go back and help fix the totally broken and crime infested places from which they came," he adds.  "Then come back and show us how it's done."

Trump's tweets have been denounced by the Democratic Party as racist.

"That is a racist tweet. Telling people to go back where they came from? I think that's wrong," said assistant speaker Ben Lujan (D–N.M.), told Fox News' Chris Wallace, per The Hill.

"These are American citizens elected by voters in the United States of America."

Next Up