Hundreds of schools closed Thursday due to snow, wind

Schools are closing early on Wednesday, and closures are being announced for Thursday.
Publish date:

The snowstorm that is hitting Minnesota has caused hundreds of school snow days across the state Thursday.

Parts of the state could see up to two feet of snow by Friday, with heavy snow starting in southwestern and south-central Minnesota Wednesday morning, hitting the Twin Cities by midday and continuing overnight.

While many school districts in central, southern and west-central Minnesota announced Thursday closures yesterday, the major districts in the Twin Cities left it until Thursday morning to confirm their snow days.

Minneapolis, St. Paul and Anoka-Hennepin schools have all closed for the day, with Minneapolis saying: "This decision was made because the worsening weather and dangerous road conditions cause concerns about safely transporting all students to school."

Thursday school closures

This is only a partial list – see KARE 11 for a comprehensive list of school closures.

Albany Area Schools

Annandale Public Schools

Anoka Hennepin Public Schools

Becker Schools

Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa Schools 

Braham Area Schools

Brainerd Public Schools

Brooklyn Center Schools

Burnsville-Eagan-Savage Schools

Chokio-Alberta Public Schools

Delano Public Schools

Eden Prairie Schools

Eden Valley-Watkins Schools

Foley Public Schools

Holdingford Public Schools

Kimball Area Public Schools

Litchfield Schools

Little Falls Schools

Long Prairie-Grey Eagle Public Schools

Maccray Schools

Maple Lake Schools

Melrose Schools

Menahga Public Schools

Milaca Schools

Minneapolis Public Schools

Minnetonka Public Schools

Minnewaska Schools

Montevideo Schools

Monticello Public Schools

Moose Lake Community School

Morris Area-St. Mary's

Mounds View Public Schools

New Prague Area Schools

New Ulm Public Schools

Northfield Schools

North St. Paul–Maplewood–Oakdale Schools

Ogilvie Schools

Onamia Schools

Osakis Schools

Osseo Area Schools

Ortonville Schools

Parkers Prairie Schools

Pequot Lakes Schools

Pierz Schools

Pillager Schools

Pine City Public Schools

Pine River-Backus Schools

Plainview-Elgin-Millville Community Schools

Princeton Schools

Randolph Public Schools

Red Wing Schools

Richfield Public Schools

Rochester Schools

Rockford Schools

Rocori School District

Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan

Roseville Area Schools

Royalton Schools

Sartell-St. Stephen Schools

Sauk Centre Public Schools

Sauk Rapids-Rice Public Schools

St. Clair Public Schools

St. Cloud Area School District 742 

St. Louis Park Schools

St. Michael-Albertville Schools

St. Paul Public Schools

Shakopee Public Schools

South St. Paul Public Schools

South Washington County Schools

Springfield Public Schools

Stillwater Public Schools

Swanville Public Schools

Totino Grace

Upsala Area Schools

Wabasso Schools

Waconia Schools

Waseca Schools


Wayzata Public Schools

Westonka Public Schools

West Central Area Schools

West St. Paul-Mendota Heights-Eagan

Willow River Schools

Want Bring Me The News without the ads? Sign up for our Premium service for $3.99-a-month.

Next Up

Screen Shot 2020-11-23 at 9.54.21 AM

Newly elected representative vows to flout Minnesota COVID-19 rules

He wrote to Gov. Tim Walz, inviting him to a backyard gathering ahead of Thanksgiving.

coronavirus, covid-19

Minnesota Hospital Association: We are out of time to be 'Minnesota Nice'

The group is launching an ad campaign that holds nothing back about the seriousness of the situation in Minnesota hospitals.

MSU-Mankato hockey, Minnesota State, Mavericks

1 game into season and MSU Mankato is halted by COVID-19

The Mavericks played Bemidji State on Sunday.

Screen Shot 2020-11-23 at 8.57.50 AM

Cowboys TD featured horrible non-tackle by Vikings cornerback

Number 26 wanted nothing to do with making that tackle.

Screen Shot 2020-11-23 at 8.35.40 AM

New app will help Minnesotans find out about COVID-19 exposures

Personal information is not obtained by Google, Apple or the State of Minnesota.

Arianna Rooney

Missing: 16-year-old girl from White Bear Township

Anyone who sees her is asked to call 911.


Ahead of statewide shutdown, some schools close Monday and Tuesday too

A growing number are announcing closures even before Wednesday.

Minnesota schools announce Thursday closures due to cold

Many schools have already been closed for three days this week.

Schools close on Friday ahead of 'dangerous' wind chills

Minneapolis and St. Paul public schools are among those canceling classes.

Governor Tim Walz

Gov. Walz to announce school plans at Thursday press conference

The governor will reveal the state's guidance for school reopenings.


List of fall restart plans chosen by Minnesota school districts

This list will be updated as more school districts announce their plans.

Screen Shot 2019-12-13 at 7.27.01 AM

Board votes to close 3 schools in Eagan-Burnsville-Savage district

Two elementary schools and one middle school will close.

Screen Shot 2020-03-10 at 6.28.59 PM

St. Paul schools to be closed again on Wednesday

The teacher strike will continue into a second day.