Schools start announcing closures ahead of Friday snowstorm

Up to a foot of snow is forecast to fall.

Schools across Minnesota have started announcing closures ahead of Friday's anticipated snowstorm.

Up to a foot of snow could fall in places, with snow starting Friday morning and continuing into Saturday.

While some school districts will wait until the morning to make a decision, some have gone ahead and canceled classes well ahead in time.

Rochester Public Schools was among the earlier to make a decision to close. Minneapolis Public Schools, fortunately, were closing anyway on Friday for Teacher Record Keeping Day.

Here's the list of closures we know about so far. This list will be updated as more come in.

School closures

Alden-Conger Schools

Alexandria Public Schools (closing 2 hours early)

Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City Schools

Austin Public Schools

Becker Schools (closing 3 hours early)

Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa Schools

Big Lake Public Schools

Blue Earth Area Schools

Buffalo Lake-Hector-Stewart Schools

Byron Public Schools

Canby Schools

Carver County Schools (closing 2 hours early)

Chokio-Alberta Schools

Comfrey Schools

Dassel-Cokato Schools (closing at 10:45 a.m.)

Delano Schools (closing at 1 p.m.)

Durand Schools (closing at 12:45 p.m.)

Eastern Carver Schools (releasing 2 hours early)

Elmwood Schools (closing at 1 p.m.)

Farmington Public Schools (closing 2 hours early)

Foley Schools (closing at 12:15 p.m.)

Glencoe-Silver Lake Schools (closing at 11:30 a.m.)

Glenwood City School District (closing at 12:20 p.m.)

Goodhue Schools (closing at noon)

Granada Huntley East Chain School District

Hancock Schools

Hopkins Public Schools (2 hour early release)

Hutchinson Schools (closing at 2 p.m.)

Janesville-Waldorf-Pemberton Schools

KMS Public Schools

Lake City Schools (closing at 11:15 a.m.)

Le Sueur-Henderson Public Schools

Litchfield Schools

Lyle Schools

Madelia Public Schools

Maple River Schools

Martin County West Schools

Melrose Schools (closing at 11:30 a.m.)

Milaca Schools (closing at 12:30 p.m.)

Minneapolis Public Schools (not weather related)

Minnetonka Public Schools (closing at noon)

Minnewaska Schools

Montevideo Schools

Mountain Lake Public Schools

Morris Area Schools

New London-Spicer Schools

New Prague Schools

New Richland-Hartland-Ellendale-Geneva Public Schools

Onamia Schools (closing at 12:15 p.m.)

Prior Lake-Savage Schools

Red Rock Central Schools

Red Wing Schools (closing 3 hours early)

Rochester Public Schools

Sartell-St. Stephen Schools (closing 2 hours early)

Sauk Rapids Rice Schools (closing 2 hours early)

Shakopee Schools (closing 2 hours early)

Sleepy Eye Schools

Spring Valley Public Schools (closing at 1:15 p.m.)

Stewartville Schools

St. Cloud Area School District (closing 2 hours early)

St. James Public Schools

St. Louis Park Public Schools (2-hour early release)

Tri-City United Schools

Truman Schools

Watertown-Mayer Schools (closing at 11 a.m.)

Wayzata Schools (2-hour early release)

Willmar Public Schools

Windom Schools

Zumbrota-Mazeppa Schools

Sign up: Subscribe to our BREAKING WEATHER newsletters

Next Up