Skip to main content

10 Mr. Hockey finalists announced

  • Author:
  • Updated:

The high school hockey season is blasting full-steam ahead and the state tournament is right around the corner. With that, it's that time of year again to announce ten finalists for the annual Minnesota Mr. Hockey Award.

The Minnesota Minute Men announced the following finalists on Wednesday, according to MN Hockey Hub.

Duluth East defenseman Phil Beaulieu, Blaine forward Tyler Cline, Benilde-St. Margaret’s forward Spencer Naas, Edina defenseman Tyler Nanne, Grand Rapids forward Avery Peterson, Hill-Murray forward Mitch Slattery, Eden Prairie forward Steven Spinner, Eden Prairie defenseman Luc Snuggerud, Eagan defenseman Nick Wolff and Roseau forward Zach Yon.

According to the Minnesota Minute Men website, the Mr. Hockey honor is awarded to the "outstanding senior high school boys’ hockey player in the state of Minnesota and is selected by a panel of National Hockey League Scouts, Junior Scouts/Coaches and selected media members from around the state."

Hunter Shepard of Grand Rapids and Max Berglove of Elk River were named finalists for the Frank Brimsek Award, which is given annually to the state's best senior goalie.

The winners will be announced March 9 at the St. Paul RiverCentre. The Class 1A and 2A state championship games will be played March 8 at the Xcel Energy Center.

Grant Besse of Benilde-St. Margaret's won the award last year. The three previous winners – Justin Kloos, Kyle Rau and Nick Bjugstad – all play/played for the Golden Gophers. Bjugstad is now in the NHL with the Florida Panthers. The 2009 winner was Eden Prairie's Nick Leddy, who won a Stanley Cup with the Chicago Blackhawks last season.

The 2000 winner was former Elk River standout Paul Martin. He played three years at the University of Minnesota and now plays for the Pittsburgh Penguins. He's on the U.S. Olympic team roster and will make his way to Sochi, Russia on Saturday.

Next Up

Harriet Island flooding, St. Paul

St. Paul to close road in anticipation of Mississippi River flooding

River levels are expected to rise through the week.

Michael Davis

Former Mormon church leader convicted of sexually assaulting boy, 13

It emerged that the church leader was a registered sex offender.

Screen Shot 2020-08-14 at 6.45.53 PM

Lost 1-year-old reunited with parents in Brooklyn Park

The girl was found by a concerned citizen around 7:30 p.m. Sunday.

Screen Shot 2020-12-27 at 8.33.49 AM

For 2nd time, Minnesota farm devastated by deadly fire

Around 1,000 goats and a litter of puppies were killed when a barn caught fire on Friday.


Fleeing suspect crashes, killing innocent driver in Brooklyn Park

The suspect fled police in Osseo and was going south on County Road 81.

1497 S Ferry St, Anoka, MN 55303, United States - August 2021

Body found tangled with debris in the Mississippi River

The individual's name has not yet been released.

Northtown Mall Carnival

Around 100 kids run from carnival fight into Northtown Mall

Police say a large fight was happening on the ferris wheel before kids fled into the mall.

Screen Shot 2021-05-27 at 9.29.03 AM

Former state senator Scott Jensen endorsed by GOP for governor

Jensen beat to multiple other hopefuls for the endorsement at Saturday's convention.


NWS already monitoring Thursday for severe weather in MN

Monday-Wednesday should be fantastic weather in Minnesota.


Body of missing Mankato woman believed to have been found

A canoer found the body in a swamp near Eagle Lake Friday.

kim crockett facebook sos

MN GOP endorses attorney general, secretary of state candidates

Kim Crockett was endorsed as the party's candidate for secretary of state, while Jim Schultz won the endorsement for attorney general.