14 teams have clinched a ticket to the Minnesota state high school baseball tournament

Wednesday was loaded with section finals, with even more Thursday.
Publish date:

The most exciting week of high school baseball is roaring along after a bunch of section finals were played across the metro area on Wednesday night. 

Leading the highlights were the Blaine Bengals, who clinched a berth in next week's state tournament with Seth Miller throwing a no-hitter in a 13-0 victory over Anoka in Section 7 of the Class 4A field. 

Other metro-area section final scores from Wednesday: Minnetonka 8-2 over Edina; Eastview 3-2 over Apple Valley; Mounds View 4-0 over Totino-Grace; Wayzata 4-2 over St. Louis Park. 

Today's Top Stories

4 athletes with Minnesota connections on Forbes' highest-paid athletes list.

No arrest made in half of Minneapolis murders, study finds.

Target launches another new brand it describes as "insta-worthy." 

Here's a section-by-section view of teams that have already clinched a berth in the state tournament and all of the pending section finals, most of which will be played Thursday. 

Class 1A

  • Section 1: Rushford-Peterson
  • Section 2: BOLD vs. Sleepy Eye, Thursday 5 p.m. 
  • Section 3: Wabasso vs. Kerkoven-Murdock-Sunberg, Thursday 5 p.m.
  • Section 4: Heritage Christian vs. Randolph, Thursday 12 p.m. 
  • Section 5: Hinckley-Finlayson vs. Pine River-Backus, Thursday 5 p.m. 
  • Section 6: New York Mills vs. Parkers Prairie or Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa (Friday)
  • Section 7: South Ridge vs. Carlton, Thursday 5 p.m. 
  • Section 8: Fosston vs. Sacred Heart, Thursday 2 p.m.

Class 2A

  • Section 1: Caledonia
  • Section 2: Belle Plaine vs. Jordan, Thursday 5 p.m. 
  • Section 3: Luverne vs. Paynesville, Thursday 5 p.m. 
  • Section 4: Minnehaha Academy vs. New Life Academy, Thursday 5 p.m. 
  • Section 5: Maple Lake vs. Glencoe-Silver Lake, Thursday 4:30 p.m.
  • Section 6: Pierz vs. St. Cloud Cathedral, Thursday 5 p.m. 
  • Section 7: Esko vs. Duluth Marshall, Thursday 5 p.m. 
  • Section 8: Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton vs. Perham or Wadena-Deer Creek (Friday)

Class 3A

  • Section 1: Red Wing
  • Section 2: New Ulm vs. Mankato West, Thursday 5 p.m. 
  • Section 3: South St. Paul
  • Section 4: Fridley vs. Mahtomedi, Thursday 6 p.m. 
  • Section 5: Rocori
  • Section 6: Willmar
  • Section 7: Chisago Lakes vs. Grand Rapids, Thursday 3 p.m. 
  • Section 8: Alexandria

Class 4A

  • Section 1: Lakeville North
  • Section 2: Minnetonka
  • Section 3: Eastview
  • Section 4: Stillwater
  • Section 5: Mounds View
  • Section 6: Wayzata
  • Section 7: Blaine
  • Section 8: St. Michael-Albertville vs. Brainerd, Thursday 6 p.m. 

The official state tournament brackets will be released on Saturday, with each bracket made up of eight teams, five of which will be seeded with the remaining three placed by random draw. 

Next Up

Screen Shot 2021-01-18 at 3.17.49 PM

No KAT? No D'Lo? No problem as Timberwolves defeat Pelicans

The Timberwolves were without Karl-Anthony Towns and D'Angelo Russell, but still picked up a (SCORE) win.

Screen Shot 2021-01-23 at 7.53.44 PM

Spinouts, crashes across Twin Cities as snow gets heavier

There have been multiple incidents across the metro area.

Mason Branstrator

Family, friends raising funds for teen soccer standout with spinal injury

Mason Branstrator of Duluth was injured in a skiing accident.

Screen Shot 2021-01-22 at 9.08.16 PM

Tributes pour in after MN Supreme Court justice's daughter found dead

Olivia Chutich died near the campus of Iowa State University.

Image from iOS (96)

Early Saturday fire damages Burger King in Richfield

The fire was reported around 1:15 a.m. Saturday.

Jamal Mashburn Jr. / Gopher Basketball

Maryland hands Gophers first home loss of season

The 17th-ranked Gophers fell to the Terrapins 63-49 on Saturday afternoon.

Alibi Drinkery in Lakeville.

Minnesota Department of Health files lawsuit against Alibi Drinkery

The Lakeville bar has been in the news for defying orders.

Iron Tap snowmobile delivery

This MN restaurant will deliver to your ice house... on a snowmobile

Just in case you work up an appetite fishing on Lake Waconia.

Klobuchar and Trump

Klobuchar reacts to report Trump plotted against his attorney general

The NYT story alleges further tactics to overturn the election.


17 more teams qualify for the MN state baseball tourney

New Ulm needed 11 innings to beat Mankato West

Screen Shot 2019-02-15 at 7.30.06 AM

State tourney fields nearly set in MN high school girls hockey

An incredible finish to the Andover versus Forest Lake game Thursday night.

Screen Shot 2019-06-05 at 7.57.21 AM

2 teams clinch state baseball berths, dozens of section finals to come

Minnesota's high school baseball season is at its most dramatic stage.

high school hockey

6 teams advance to state hockey tourney; 8 more will Thursday

Tourney brackets will be released this weekend.

Screen Shot 2019-02-22 at 3.25.18 PM

Teams left standing in boys' high school section playoffs

Saturday is loaded with section semifinals throughout Minnesota.

Rogers baseball

Brackets for MN high school baseball state tournament

Check out the brackets to see who plays who in this week's quarterfinals and semifinals.

high school hockey (St. Cloud Cathedral 2020)

8 more qualify for MN state hockey tourney, field nearly set

Just two more section championship games remain.

Screen Shot 2019-02-25 at 8.23.28 AM

These MN boys hockey teams are 1 win from state tourney

A few upsets in the semifinals sets the stage for great section finals.