Skip to main content

16 teams clinch trip to boys' state basketball tournament

Something to monitor: the Wisconsin high school league has canceled its upcoming tournaments.

Fifteen teams clinched a berth in the boys' basketball state tournament Thursday night, with the highlight belonging to Cretin-Derham Hall guard Curtis Jones. 

Jones knocked down a deep 3-pointer in the final seconds to give Cretin-Derham Hall a 51-48 win over East Ridge in what was a battle of two of the top teams in Class 4A. 

In total, 16 teams have clinched a spot in next week's state tournament. Below is a look at the remaining section title games scheduled to happen Friday night, along with the final scores of championship games already played in 16 sections. 

Brackets will be released Saturday morning, but because of the novel coronavirus pandemic, each team will be limited in the number of fans that will be allowed to attend all games going forward. 

It should also be noted that the Wisconsin high school league has canceled all of its upcoming state tournaments. Minnesota has not done so but the situation certainly warrants monitoring. 

Meanwhile, the girls' state tournament semifinals will be played with limited fans in attendance on Friday, with the same situation in place for Saturday's championship games. Get the updated girls brackets right here

Class 4A

Section 1: Lakeville South vs. Rochester Mayo (Friday)

Section 2: Eden Prairie vs. Shakopee (Friday)

Section 3: Eastview vs. Lakeville North (Friday)

Section 4: Cretin-Derham Hall 51, East Ridge 48

Section 5: Park Center vs. Spring Lake Park (Friday)

Section 6: Hopkins 71, Robbinsdale Cooper 60

Section 7: Cambridge-Isanti 81, Duluth East 73

Section 8: Maple Grove 54, Buffalo 52

Class 3A

Section 1: Austin vs. Albert Lea (Friday)

Section 2: Marshall 65, Mankato East 58 

Section 3: Richfield 67, Holy Angels 53

Section 4: Minnehaha Academy 94, Totino-Grace 58

Section 5: Delano 80, Fridley 51

Section 6: DeLaSalle 71, Waconia 45

Section 7: Princeton 67, Hermantown 64

Section 8: St. Cloud Apollo 72, Alexandria 70

Class 2A

Section 1: Caledonia 71, Stewartville 55

Section 2: Waseca vs. Jordan (Friday)

Section 3: Jackson County Central 69, Minnewaska Area 60

Section 4: Concordia Academy vs. Cristo Rey Jesuit (Friday)

Section 5: Minneapolis North vs. Blake (Friday)

Section 6: Melrose vs. Mora (Friday)

Section 7: Esko vs. Pierz (Friday)

Section 8: Fergus Falls vs. Perham (Friday)

Class 1A

Section 1: Blooming Prairie 59, Hayfield 51

Section 2: New Ulm vs. Springfield (Friday)

Section 3: Southwest MN Christian 71, Central MN Christian 64

Section 4: Christ's Household of Faith vs. Legacy Christian (Friday)

Section 5: Nevis vs. Hinckley-Finlayson (Friday)

Section 6: Henning 57, West Central Area (45

Section 7: Nashwauk-Keewatin vs. North Woods (Friday)

Section 8: Cass Lake-Bena vs. Ada-Borup (Friday

Next Up


Ferocious winds, possible tornadoes leave destruction in MN

Numerous reports of tornadoes and nearly 100 mph straight-line winds.


Canoe carrying 4 overturns near St. John's University

Of the four, only one was wearing a lifejacket when the boat capsized Wednesday.

pexels beer bar craft brewery

MN's craft alcohol makers back new push to loosen state's liquor laws

The pushback includes loosening restrictions on growler sales for bigger craft breweries and a more direct line of spirit sales to customers.

Screen Shot 2022-05-12 at 8.02.19 PM

Severe thunderstorm warnings in the Twin Cities

It's the second night in a row that severe storms are hitting the metro.


Twin Cities placed in tornado watch ahead of intense line of storms

Photo above is a view from Marshall as the line of storms moved through Thursday evening.

fire pixabay stock

1 dead, 1 escapes western Wisconsin house fire

The single-story home was fully engulfed in flames when first responders arrived early Wednesday morning.

Wind storms tree

Rare 'particularly dangerous situation' weather watch issued in SW MN

The warning covers an area of Minnesota, South Dakota, Iowa, and Nebraska.

fire, firefighter

Dad and 2 children killed in western Wisconsin house fire

A devastating house fire happened early Thursday morning.

Screen Shot 2020-08-14 at 6.45.53 PM

2 suspects involved in Brooklyn Park armed carjacking

The incident happened Wednesday night near a shopping center and Cub.

Alexander Odegaard

Man sentenced to more than 10 years in prison for child pornography

Alexander John Odegaard was sentenced in U.S. District Court Tuesday.

Screen Shot 2022-05-12 at 12.15.21 PM

Victim in I-90 crash was storm-chasing meteorologist from Mexico

Martha Llanos Rodriguez died in the wreck on I-90.


Screen Shot 2020-03-09 at 10.10.46 AM

It's section championship week in MN boys' basketball

The section title games determine who makes it to the state tournament.

high school basketball

30 Minnesota boys' basketball teams that are on fire

These teams are rolling and the focus of our high school sports series.

Paige Bueckers

MSHSL cancels girls, boys basketball tournaments

It could mean the end of high school basketball careers for seniors.

Screen Shot 2019-03-16 at 9.49.29 AM

Brackets for the MN Boys' Basketball State Tournament

The Class AA bracket will be released on Sunday morning.

high school basketball

3 days of section championships set in MN boys basketball

Minnesota's version of March madness is upon us.

Screen Shot 2019-06-05 at 7.57.21 AM

2 teams clinch state baseball berths, dozens of section finals to come

Minnesota's high school baseball season is at its most dramatic stage.

Screen Shot 2019-03-20 at 9.15.26 AM

State basketball tournament: Where to watch it online, and on TV

The quarterfinal games are not televised, but you can stream them.