17 more teams qualify for the Minnesota high school state baseball tournament

New Ulm needed 11 innings to beat Mankato West.
Publish date:

The field for the 2018 Minnesota high school baseball state tournament is nearly set after a busy day of section finals on Thursday. 

Fourteen teams qualified for State with section championships Tuesday-Wednesday and another 17 advanced to the the tourney with clinching victories on Thursday. 

Today's Top Stories

4 Minnesota natives win Stanley Cup with the Washington Capitals

Lynx snap losing streak, Whalen-Moore-Brunson trios sets WNBA record

Here's what happen in a class-by-class breakdown of Thursday's action. 

Class 1A

  • Heritage Christian came out of the loser's bracket and beat Randolph twice to advance from Section 4. 
  • Sleepy Eye took down top seed BOLD (for a second time) 3-2 to take the Section 2 crown. 
  • Sacred Heart enters State on a seven-game win streak after beating Fosston 3-1 in Section 8. 
  • Hinckley-Finlayson is in after rolling over Pine River-Backus 9-3 to win Section 5. The Jaguars have won 13 straight while outscoring their opponents 105-21. 
  • The Wabasso Rabbits swept through Section 3 to get to state, wrapping things up with a 5-0 win over Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunberg. 
  • South Ridge is headed to State for the first time in school history after defeating Carlton 3-1. 

Class 2A

  • Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton improved to 22-2 on the season a 6-5 win over Wadena-Deer Creek to advance from Section 8. 
  • Maple Lake crushed Glencoe-Silver Laker 13-3 for its 14th straight win. They enter the state tournament with a record of 22-2. 
  • Section 6 goes to St. Cloud Cathedral after they beat Pierz 4-3 on a game-winning double in the bottom of the seventh inning. 
  • Luverne forced a second game Thursday but Paynesville won 7-4 to take Section 3. 
  • Duluth Marshall had to beat Esko twice to win Section 7 and they did, winning the second game 23-1. 
  • Jordan beat Belle Plaine 8-2 in a Hwy. 169 rivalry final in Section 2. 

Class 3A

  • Grand Rapids, which started the season 1-9 and entered the section tourney as the six seed, crushed Chisago Lakes 11-5 to win the Section 7 title. 
  • Minnehaha Academy went 5-0 in Section 4 while outscoring opponents 64-4, with the finishing touches being a 9-1 win over New Life Academy. 
  • New Ulm avenged a 10-run loss to Mankato West in the regular season with a 11-inning, 2-1 win to advance to state out of Section 2. 
  • Make it five straight Section 5 titles for Mahtomedi as they upset top seed Fridley 1-0 in the section final. 

Class 4A

  • Brainerd needed to beat St. Michael-Albertville twice. They won the first game but then lost 10-0 in five innings, giving the Knights a Section 8 title. 

Note: New York Mills and Parkers Prairie play in the Section 6 final Friday at 5 p.m. It's the only game in the state Friday. The official state tournament brackets will be released Saturday. 

Next Up