Skip to main content

4 state champs crowned in Minnesota high school baseball

The last game didn't start until nearly 9:30 p.m. because of rain.

Rain disrupted the schedule of championship Thursday at Target Field, but four schools wound up leaving the home of the Twins on Thursday with championship trophies and medals. 

Class A: BOLD Warriors

The No. 1 BOLD Warriors defeated No. 2 New York Mills 8-0 for the school's second baseball championship since 2013. Jordan Sagedahl led BOLD by pitching a one-hit shutout. Ironically, BOLD won the 2013 state title with a one-hitter. 

Sagedahl took a no-hitter in the seventh inning (high school baseball only goes 7 innings) before giving up a hit. 

Class AA: Duluth Marshall Hilltoppers

A comeback to win a state title is always memorable, but even more so for Duluth Marshall, whose 4-2 win over No. 2 Minnehaha Academy is just the second state baseball championship for the City of Duluth and the first since Duluth Denfeld won a title in 1950. 

Duluth Marshall scored three runs in the top of the seventh to take the lead, which they held onto against a Redhawks team that had handed the Hilltoppers its only loss of the season back on April 20. 

Class AAA: St. Thomas Academy Cadets

The third-seeded Cadets claimed the state championship with a 1-0 victory following a nearly three-hour delay to start the game because of afternoon rain. The wait didn't matter for either pitcher, as St. Thomas Academy's Duke Coburn pitched a six-hit shutout with nine strikeouts, while Benilde-St. Margaret's starter Blake Mahmood allowed just two hits and three walks while also striking out nine batters. 

Class AAAA: East Ridge Raptors

The game didn't start until after 9 p.m., but the wait was worth it for East Ridge as they came from behind to top New Prague 7-2 for the school's first baseball title. The Raptors were getting mowed downed by New Prague left-hander Luke Tupy, who struck out 10 of 12 batters to start the game, but a five-run fifth inning and two-run sixth helped East Ridge rally from a 1-0 deficit. 

Next Up

Wayzata High School

Niche rankings identify best Minnesota schools, districts

Eden Prairie has schools ranked in both the private and public categories.


Walker, The Current announce end of Rock the Garden festival

The Walker Art Center and Minnesota Public Radio announced the festival will retire so the organizations can dream up new events.

Screen Shot 2022-09-28 at 9.05.52 AM

Able Seedhouse + Brewery in NE Minneapolis to close

The brewery and its onsite food truck, Animales Burger Co., will both be open for their last day on Saturday.

Lake Minnetonka

Police investigate spate of car break-ins on south Lake Minnetonka shore

The South Lake Minnetonka Police Department received reports that cars in Shorewood and Excelsior were broken into Tuesday morning.


1 dead, 3 injured in crash involving tractor and SUV

The man driving the tractor was killed in the crash.

University of minnesota sign

U of M gives some students 50% off meals for September after complaints

Students have complained about an array of issues surrounding dining halls.


Gallery: Sprawling estate near Superior National Forest listed for $2.9M

The property has been in the same family for over 60 years.

Screen Shot 2022-09-27 at 2.51.49 PM

Surgery clinic proposed to replace 111-year-old farmhouse in Eagan

A developer is proposing to transform the remnant farm property.

Hurricane Ian

Why Hurricane Ian could be catastrophic in Florida

Hurricanes are the atmosphere’s biggest show of force and energy, and Hurricane Ian is no exception.


Suspect arrested after man and dog shot on St. Paul's East Side

The shooting happened around 12:45 p.m. Tuesday.


Bemidji police appeal to find missing teenager

Tahlia Poitra was last seen Wednesday.


state baseball tournament, East Ridge

State baseball championship games set for Target Field

The four championship games will be played Thursday in Minneapolis.

Rogers baseball

Brackets for MN high school baseball state tournament

Check out the brackets to see who plays who in this week's quarterfinals and semifinals.

Screen Shot 2019-06-05 at 7.57.21 AM

2 teams clinch state baseball berths, dozens of section finals to come

Minnesota's high school baseball season is at its most dramatic stage.

Check out all 4 brackets for the 2018 State baseball tournament

Games start Thursday in Chaska, St. Cloud, St. Paul and Minneapolis.

17 more teams qualify for the MN state baseball tourney

New Ulm needed 11 innings to beat Mankato West.

Screen Shot 2019-06-07 at 1.26.16 PM

State baseball tourney field nearly set as 31 teams clinch

The brackets will be released over the weekend.

Screen Shot 2019-02-15 at 7.30.06 AM

State tourney fields nearly set in MN high school girls hockey

An incredible finish to the Andover versus Forest Lake game Thursday night.