4 Twins players advance in All-Star Game voting

Max Kepler fell just short of moving on.
Publish date:
Eddie Rosario

Four Twins have advanced to the final round of All-Star Game voting.

C.J. Cron, Eddie Rosario, Jorge Polanco and Nelson Cruz are all in the running to start at this year's All-Star Game.

Fans will have a 28-hour voting period to name the starters beginning Wednesday, June 26. Here are the finalists in the American League.


  • Robinson Chirinos 
  • James McCann
  • Gary Sanchez

First Base:

  • C.J. Cron 
  • Carlos Santana 
  • Luke Voit

Second Base:

  • Jose Altuve 
  • Tommy La Stella 
  • DJ LaMahieu


  • Carlos Correa 
  • Jorge Polanco 
  • Geyber Torres

Third base:

  • Alex Bregman 
  • Hunter Dozier 
  • Gio Urshela


  • Mookie Betts 
  • Michael Brantley 
  • Joey Gallo 
  • Aaron Judge 
  • Austin Meadows 
  • Josh Reddick 
  • Eddie Rosario 
  • George Springer 
  • Mike Trout

Designated Hitter:

  • Nelson Cruz 
  • J.D. Martinez 
  • Hunter Pence

The top-three vote-getters among the nine outfielders will be the named starters. Just missing the cut in the primary vote was Max Kepler, falling 138 votes short of advancing.

Pitchers and reserves will be chosen through a player ballot and the Commissioner's Office. Managers no longer have a say in naming players to the team but they do have the power to name the starting pitcher.

If Jake Odorizzi is named to the team, there's a legitimate case for him to start this year's Midsummer Classic as he owns a 10-3 record, 2.58 ERA and 87 strikeouts to just 25 walks in 80 innings.

The Twins' record for most players sent to the All-Star Game was in 1965 – which was played at Met Stadium – when they had six players represent the team.

Next Up