Skip to main content
Publish date:

4 Vikings selected to Pro Bowl; Xavier Rhodes, Stefon Diggs not invited

Adam Thielen is in for a second consecutive year.

Four Minnesota Vikings have been selected to the Pro Bowl, the NFL announced on Tuesday. 

The four are: safety Harrison Smith, linebacker Anthony Barr, wide receiver Adam Thielen and defensive end Danielle Hunter. 

It'll be the fourth trip to the Pro Bowl for Smith and Barr, the second consecutive appearance for Thielen and the first career selection for Hunter, who leads the Vikings and is tied for second in the NFL with 14.5 sacks. 

Thielen's 105 receptions rank second in the NFL and he has 1,255 yards and a career-high nine touchdowns to boot. 

The obvious snubs for the Vikings are cornerback Xavier Rhodes and wide receiver Stefon Diggs, who has 92 catches for 964 yards and seven touchdowns. Granted, the other NFC receivers selected over Diggs are all deserving: Julio Jones, Davante Adams and Michael Thomas.  

Sadly, kicker Dan Bailey wasn't picked, which probably has something to do with his NFC-worst seven missed field goals and 72 percent conversion rate. 

The Pro Bowl will be played in Orlando, Florida in January. 

Next Up

mary franson without mask

GOPer's criticism of vaccine requirement sparks rush of support for St. Paul restaurant

"Vaccinated or not, no one should be participating in medical status segregation," Rep. Mary Franson said.

Justin Jefferson

Where the Vikings stand in the NFC playoff picture

Sunday's win over the Packers has the Vikings controlling their own destiny.

Target Store

Target will keep its stores closed on Thanksgiving for good

The big box retailer is also beginning holiday sales early this year.

school, classroom

Osseo district extends winter break to let teachers 'destress and re-energize'

The school board and district leadership team acknowledged the difficult circumstances the pandemic has created and decided to give everyone some extra time off.

Team Shuster

Team Shuster will defend gold medal at 2022 Beijing Olympics

The defending champs qualified for the February Olympics on Sunday night.


Two in critical condition after wrong-way crash in Minneapolis

Two others were also taken to the hospital with injuries.


St. Paul man killed, 2 injured in head-on crash in NW Minnesota

He crossed the center line and struck another vehicle.

West St Paul, Minnesota - August 2018

Female shot in parking lot of Twin Cities Menards store

The incident happened at the same Menards where a robbery happened in September.

Image from iOS

1 injured, 1 in custody following shooting, police chase in Hopkins

The suspect was arrested following a police pursuit Sunday afternoon.

Kirk Cousins

Kirk Cousins surprises Viking fan van on Minnesota highway

Cousins's new aggressiveness has pulled into the fast lane.

Joel Eriksson Ek

Another Wild rally falls short against Lightning

The Wild scored two goals with the extra attacker but couldn't beat the two-time defending champs.


Danielle Hunter

3 Vikings named to Pro Bowl, but not Kirk Cousins

A case could be made for Cousins to have made it over Drew Brees.

Diggs returns to practice, vows to play at Patriots Sunday

Diggs has been held out of practice most of the week because of a knee injury.

Injury updates: Stefon Diggs, Xavier Rhodes both active

Diggs' knee apparently swelled up overnight.

Stefon Diggs

Comparing 2018 to 2019 for Stefon Diggs, Adam Thielen

A dominant running game means Thielen and Diggs don't have to do it all anymore.

Wide Left: Midseason report card for the Vikings

With the Vikings 6-2 and in the thick of the NFC playoff race, Blair figured it was a good time to draw attention to those who are excelling and also to those who simply aren't making the grade.

After dispute, Diggs and Rhodes say they got Zimmer's message

Diggs and Rhodes got into it during recent training camp practices.

Stefon Diggs misses practice again with knee injury

Diggs must've hurt his knee on Sunday against Green Bay.