5 Minnesotans named to FCS All-Decade team

Five of 31 players is extremely impressive.
Publish date:

Thirty-one players were named to the Football Championship Series (FCS) team of the 2010s released by STATS this week, and five of them are Minnesota natives. 

Minnesotans making the STATS FCS 2010s All-Decade Team include: 

  • Zach Zenner, South Dakota State (2014)
  • Jake Wieneke, South Dakota State (2017)
  • Joel Haeg, North Dakota State (2015) 
  • Billy Turner, North Dakota State (2013)
  • Marcus Williams, North Dakota State (2013)

Zenner, a former Eagan High School star, rushed for more than 2,000 yards in 2013, 2014 and 2015 and is now a running back in the NFL with the Miami Dolphins. 

Wieneke, from Maple Grove, was one of the biggest recruiting misses for the Gophers in the Jerry Kill era. He played four years at SDSU and finished with a staggering stat line of 288 catches for 5,157 yards and 59 touchdowns. He was picked up by the Vikings in 2018 as an undrafted free agent but didn't make the team. Wieneke now plays in the CFL for the Montreal Alouettes. 

Haeg is a Lake Shore, Minnesota native who went to Brainerd High School before making it at NDSU as a walk-on. Two All-American seasons later he was drafted by the Colts and remains with Indianapolis now. 

Turner preceded Haeg at NDSU after a standout high school career at Mounds View in the Twin Cities. He was a third-round pick after winning three national championships and earning All-America honors twice. Turner has started every game for the Packers this season. 

Williams, a former star athlete at Hopkins High School, is No. 1 in NDSU history with 21 interceptions, seven of them returned for touchdowns. In 2015, Williams had six interceptions while playing for the New York Jets. He's now in his fifth season in the NFL and playing for the Bears. 

You can see the full STATS FCS 2010s All-Decade Team here

Next Up

Screen Shot 2020-04-17 at 2.58.26 PM

Walz gives vaccine providers 3-day, 7-day deadlines to use doses

Those that don't use their allocation will be given less in the future.


Border officers seize more than $550K in counterfeit designer goods

The shipments of fake goods were seized on Jan. 22.

Landfill plastic bags

4 Twin Cities landfills seek to expand capacity

This comes as the area's waste-to-energy facilities are operating at capacity.

Marcus Carr

3 of 10 finalists for NCAA's top point guard award have MN ties

Not a bad way to represent the State of... Basketball?

Justice, court

Minnesota grants unconditional pardon to grandmother facing deportation

Gov. Tim Walz says it's the first full pardon granted by the state in 35 years.

covid-19, vaccine

Minnesota changes vaccine appointment process, here's what to know

Walz also announced plans for a mass vaccination event at Xcel Energy Center.

covid-19, coronavirus

Here is Minnesota's COVID-19 update for Monday, Jan. 25

The latest figures from MDH have been released.

covid-19, vaccine

Minnesota health leaders say state's vaccine progress better than figures suggest

Minnesota is lagging behind national vaccination rates, but MDH leaders say this is because it's holding 2nd doses in reserve.

target store

Target announces bonuses ranging from $500-$2,000 for 375,000 workers

The bonuses are being provided following a booming holiday sales season.

dale olsen go fund me

Curling community rallies behind man who was shot in Minneapolis

Dale Olsen was shot in an apparent attempted robbery.


10 incredible facts about NDSU's 7 championships in 8 years

NDSU won its seventh FCS championship on Saturday.

College Gameday

'College Gameday' coming to South Dakota, is Minneapolis next?

The Nov. 9 game between the Gophers and Penn State makes some sense.

Trey Lance

MN native Trey Lance looks like the next great NDSU QB

Trey Lance racked up six touchdowns in his first college start.

Miguel Sano

Twins Daily: Twins all-decade team of the 2010s, the hitters

Five of the nine players were part of Minnesota's 101-win team in 2019.

NDSU's Chris Klieman named head coach at Kansas State

He's been a part of all six championships since 2011 at NDSU.

Jabril Cox

Will the Gophers make a play for NDSU grad transfer Jabril Cox?

Cox was one of the best defensive players in the country at the FCS level.