After record-breaking year, Twins announce 2019 team awards

It was a hell of a season for Nelson Cruz.
Nelson Cruz

The Twins announced their annual Diamond Award winners after their record-breaking 2019 season. 

  • Team MVP: Nelson Cruz 
  • Pitcher of the Year: Taylor Rogers 
  • Rookie of the Year: Luis Arraez 
  • Fielder of the Year: Byron Buxton 
  • Most improved: Mitch Garver 
  • Media Good guy: Kyle Gibson 
  • Upper Midwest POY: Nick Anderson

It's probably no surprise that Cruz was team MVP. In 120 games, Cruz slashed .311/.392/.639 with 41 home runs, 26 doubles and 108 RBI.

Closer Taylor Rogers was also a shoe in for pitcher of the year after becoming Minnesota's most reliable pitcher out of the bullpen, picking up 30 saves. Rogers struck out 90 batters, while issuing just 11 walks in just 69 innings.

Meanwhile, Arraez winning rookie of the year is extremely impressive considering he was never a top prospect and probably wasn't on anyone's radar to win the award in spring training. 

After being called up in May and staying for good in mid June, Arraez hit .334 and would've qualified for a batting title if he had received more at bats.

Buxton winning fielder of the year makes sense too even though he played in just 87 games. His 10 defensive runs saved was the most on the team.

Mitch Garver's emergence easily merited most-improved player, slugging 31 home runs in just 93 games. Lat season, Garver slashed .268/.335/.414 in 102 games while being a liability on defense.

And in case you're wondering why Nick Anderson won upper-Midwest player of the year – despite playing for the Marlins and Rays this season – it's because the award is given to the best player no matter who they play for.

Next Up

Flickr - Xcel Energy truck - Tony Webster

Xcel Energy wants to raise MN customers' electricity rates

If approved, rates go up by an average of $18.50 a month for customers.

Screen Shot 2021-10-27 at 1.11.05 PM

MPD chief 'confident' officers will still show up after Question 2 vote

Arradondo held a press conference Wednesday in which he urged for a 'No' vote.

J R Jones - Anoka County Jail 2021.10.16 - Resize crop

Charges: Driver in fatal hit-and-run said he thought he hit dog or sign

The crash killed a 56-year-old Blaine woman who had been out walking her dog.

vaccine, covid

Here is Minnesota's plan to vaccinate kids 5-11 against COVID-19

The plan includes hosting vaccination clinics at schools across the state.

Mounds View PD missing 12yo Riddley

12-year-old Twin Cities boy has been missing for 4 days

Police are asking for the public's help locating the child,

moorhead police

Police searching for man charged with kidnapping woman at gunpoint

The man approached the victim's car and pointed a gun at her, the charges state.

teacher, coronavirus, covid-19, school, classroom

Teachers union calls for 'bold' plan to get kids vaccinated against COVID

"All options should be on the table," Denise Specht, president of Education Minnesota, said.


Madden's has banner summer with surge of visitors to Gull Lake

The resort was named the No. 1 resort in the mid-Atlantic and Midwest.


Mitch Garver

Garver and Berrios lead Twins to a win over Chicago

Berrios was solid again pitching into the eighth inning.

Byron Buxton

How does Byron Buxton fit into the Twins' future plans?

He'll be out 5-6 months with a shoulder injury.

Eric Thames

First basemen the Twins could target in free agency

Will the Twins part ways with C.J. Cron?


Twins and Rays would be ideal trade partners this winter

There's multiple starting pitchers Minnesota could trade for.

Kyle Gibson

Twins fall to Nationals, division lead down to 3.5 games

Minnesota opens a three-game series in Cleveland on Friday.

Randy Dobnak

Is Randy Dobnak for real or the next Boof Bonser?

Dobnak will likely start a playoff game for the Twins.