All Division I hockey conferences delay start of upcoming season due to COVID-19

There is no word just yet on when the college hockey season will begin at the D1 level.
Publish date:

All of the Division I men's and women's hockey teams in Minnesota will not start their upcoming 2020-21 season on time after the Hockey Commissioners Association, which represents 11 D1 conferences, announced Thursday that the start of the season will be delayed because of COVID-19. 

The delay impacts all five D1 schools in Minnesota, who play in the Big Ten, NCHC and the WCHA. 

  • Minnesota Gophers
  • Minnesota-Duluth Bulldogs
  • Minnesota State-Mankato Mavericks 
  • Bemidji State Beavers
  • St. Cloud State Huskies

"The conferences have been working together on plans to return to play with a focus on the health and safety of everyone associated within our campus communities. Due to the impact COVID-19 continues to have across the country and within higher education, the start of competition for the Division I college hockey season will be delayed," the Hockey Commissioners Association announced in a statement. 

Each conference will announce scheduling and tournament plans in the near future, though an official delayed start date is not yet available. 

"Clearly everyone in college hockey wanted to be playing games next month, but we knew this delay was likely to happen and the health and safety of our student-athletes is what's most important," said Gopher men's coach Bob Motzko. "We all believe there is a path forward and look for that to come soon." 

Next Up