Check out the top seeds, matchups in the MSHSL nickname bracket

This is cool!
Publish date:
Awesome Blossoms

The Blooming Prairie Awesome Blossoms received a No. 1 seed. 

With spring sports canceled because of the pandemic, the Minnesota State High School League is helping to provide some sports substance with a high school nickname bracket. 

It's a 64-school tournament, similar to NCAA basketball's March Madness, and matchup winners will be decided by a public vote. The MSHSL's John Millea created the bracket, seeding the top eight nicknames in four regions with each school's first-round opponent selected by random draw. 

You can see the full bracket here and matchups here, and below are the teams that received a seed. 

No. 1 seeds: 

Blooming Prairie Awesome Blossoms

Moorhead Spuds

Thief River Falls Prowlers

Wabasso Rabbits

No. 2 seeds: 

Lanesburo Burros

Fergus Falls Otters

Wrenshall Wrens

Grand Meadow Superlarks

No. 3 seeds:

Triton Cobras

Winona Winhawks

Perham Yellowjackets

Yellow Medicine East Sting

No. 4 seeds

Elk River Elks

Aitkin Gobblers

Minneapolis North/North St. Paul Polars

Esko Eskomos

No. 5 seeds

International Falls Broncos

Kimball Cubs

Badger Greenbush-Middle River Gators

Blackduck Drakes

No. 6 seeds

Sauk Centre Mainstreeters

Stiller/Warren-Alvarado-Oslo Ponies

Duluth Marshall Hilltoppers

Eastview Lightning

No. 7 seeds

St. Paul Johnson Governors

Breckenridge Cowboys

McGregor Mercuries

Hawley Nuggets

No. 8 seeds

Edgerton Flying Dutchmen

Dawson-Boyd Blackjacks

Brooklyn Center Centaurs

Chatfield Gophers

"Voting will take place on Twitter and begin Monday, May 18. Follow me @MSHSLjohn on Twitter to see the matchups and cast your votes," Millea wrote. 

Next Up

Byron Buxton

Alex Colomé wastes Buxton's diving catch, clutch bomb

The Twins' bullpen woes continued in a loss to the A's.

Northern Metals

Firefighters battling large blaze at Northern Metal site in Minneapolis

The fire sent a plume of thick smoke into the skyline.

Screen Shot 2021-04-21 at 12.10.00 PM

Charges: St. Cloud woman maced, fatally stabbed man in alley

A 36-year-old man was pronounced dead at St. Cloud Hospital 32 minutes after the 911 call was made.


Gasthof's building in Northeast Minneapolis is for sale

The restaurant opened in 1992 and has been closed amid the COVID-19 pandemic.


1 dead in single-vehicle crash in Kandiyohi County

Deaths on Minnesota roads are up approximately 20% from the same point last year.

Irwin Jacobs home

Neighbor sues to block estate from dividing billionaire's Lake Minnetonka property

The estate of Irwin Jacobs wants to build six new homes on the late businessman's property.


In the better burger battle, does Culver's trump In-N-Out?

A website says Culver's is far superior to In-N-Out.

George Floyd mural

Darnella Frazier, who filmed the video of Floyd's arrest, reacts to guilty verdict

Frazier's video challenged the initial narrative of Floyd's arrest presented by the Minneapolis Police Department.



Here are the brackets for the boys' state hockey tournament

The top seeds are Warroad in 1A and Andover in 2A.

Check out all 4 brackets for the 2018 State baseball tournament

Games start Thursday in Chaska, St. Cloud, St. Paul and Minneapolis.

Esko Eskomos

Petitions gain support for, against MN school's nickname

The district hasn't said if it is considering a name change or not.

Screen Shot 2019-02-17 at 7.51.42 AM

Here are the brackets for the State Girls' Hockey Tournament

Warroad and Mound Westonka enter the Class A tourney without a loss.

Check out the state tourney brackets for MN prep football

St. Michael-Albertville is in after a comeback for the ages.