Danielle Hunter lone Viking named to All-NFL Team

Harrison Smith was named to the All-NFC Team.
Publish date:

The All-NFL Team team has been announced by the Pro Football Writers Association (PFWA) and the only Vikings player to be voted to it is defensive end Danielle Hunter. 

Hunter joins Houston Texans star J.J. Watt as the two best defensive ends in the NFL, as voted on by writers from around the country. 

Hunter, still just 24 years old, finished fourth in the NFL with 14.5 sacks this season, giving him 40 sacks in four seasons since being selected in the third round (88th overall) of the 2015 NFL Draft.  

The PFWA also votes on an All-NFC Team and All-AFC Team, and Vikings safety Harrison Smith was named a member of the NFC squad. It's the second consecutive selection to the All-NFC Team for Smith. 

Here's the entire All-NFL Team. 


QB: Patrick Mahomes (Chiefs)

RB: Ezekiel Elliot (Cowboys), Todd Gurley (Rams)

WR: DeAndre Hopkins (Texans), Julio Jones (Falcons), Michael Thomas (Saints)

TE: Travis Kelce (Chiefs)

C: Jason Kelce (Eagles)

G: Zack Martin (Cowboys), Quenton Nelson (Colts)

T: David Bakhtiari (Packers), Mitchell Schwartz (Chiefs)


DE: Danielle Hunter (Vikings), J.J. Watt (Texans)

DT: Fletcher Cox (Eagles), Aaron Donald (Rams)

OLB: Khalil Mack (Bears), Von Miller (Broncos)

MLB: Bobby Wagner (Seahawks)

CB: Kyle Fuller (Bears), Stephon Gilmore (Patriots)

S: Eddie Jackson (Bears), Derwin James (Chargers)

Special Teams

PK: Justin Tucker (Ravens)

P: Michael Dickson (Seahawks)

KR: Andre Roberts (Jets)

PR: Tarik Cohen (Bears)

ST: Adrian Phillips (Chargers)

Next Up

Jorge Polanco

Shoemaker, Twins lineup rebounds against Tigers

Jorge Polanco homered in a 7-3 victory over Detroit.

Kirill Kaprizov / Minnesota Wild

Watch: Kaprizov's OT winner lifts Wild into 2nd place in West

Kaprizov's goal gave the Wild a 3-2 victory over the Ducks.

Byron Buxton

Buxton placed on IL, Trevor Larnach called up

Buxton could be out "for weeks" with a hip strain.

A bald eagle perched on branches.

USFWS confirms 2 bald eagles were shot dead

The agency is offering a reward for information in the case.

A newborn baby, wrapped in a blanket with its mother.

Most popular baby names includes one not in top 10 for 100 years

But Olivia and Liam once again led the way for girls and boys.

Minnesota Lottery

Names of big Minnesota Lottery winners to be kept private thanks to new law

The Minnesota Legislature passed the bill unanimously and Gov. Tim Walz signed it into law this week.

FLickr - COVID-19 vaccination - Commander, U.S. Naval Forces

All 8 state COVID-19 vaccine sites now accept walk-ins

Adults can get a no-cost vaccine without making an appointment.


Report: Vikings owners nearing purchase of Orlando City MLS franchise

The Wilfs reportedly attempted to buy the Minnesota United expansion franchise years ago.

bemidji paul bunyan

Video shows the moment someone broke the Paul Bunyan statue's arm

Police are asking for the public's help to identify those involved.

bridgeman's food truck duluth

Last remaining Bridgeman's Restaurant is launching a food truck

The Duluth restaurant is the only remaining full-service Bridgeman's in business.

FLickr - electric drive vehicle charging - Open Grid Scheduler

Minnesota can move ahead with Clean Cars program, judge says

She recommended the proposed rules be adopted.


Vikings' Anthony Harris is the highest-rated safety in the NFL

Pro Football Focus ranks him 21 spots ahead of Harrison Smith.

Danielle Hunter

Report: Danielle Hunter won't return vs. Texans

The Vikings star lineman is dealing with a herniated disc in his neck.

Danielle Hunter

How much could Danielle Hunter make on his next contract?

After a slew of big contracts, the Vikings' decision to lock up Hunter looks like a steal.

Danielle Hunter

3 Vikings named to Pro Bowl, but not Kirk Cousins

A case could be made for Cousins to have made it over Drew Brees.

Danielle Hunter, Everson Griffen

Griffen leaving Vikings; Hunter restructures contract

Hunter's name appeared on the NFL's transactions report on Friday.