Gophers have 4 opponents ranked in FBS preseason Coaches Poll

Minnesota does not face the two Big Ten teams in the top 10 of the poll.
Author:
Publish date:

The FBS preseason Coaches Poll has been released and the Gophers are not ranked in the top 25, but four of their opponents are. 

Minnesota opens the season with non-conference games against South Dakota State, Fresno State and Georgia Southern, then gets going against Big Ten competition beginning Sept. 28 against Purdue. 

The four opponents Minnesota will face that are in the preseason top 25 includes No. 14 Penn State, No. 17 Wisconsin, No. 19 Iowa and No. 25 Northwestern. 

Here's the full schedule. 

  • Thursday, Aug. 29 - vs. South Dakota State
  • Saturday, Sept. 7 - at Fresno State
  • Saturday, Sept. 14 - vs. Georgia Southern
  • Saturday, Sept. 28 - at Purdue
  • Saturday, Oct. 5 - vs. Illinois
  • Saturday, Oct. 12 - vs. Nebraska
  • Saturday, Oct. 19 - at Rutgers
  • Saturday, Oct. 26 - vs. Maryland
  • Saturday, Nov. 9 - vs. Penn State
  • Saturday, Nov. 16 - at Iowa
  • Saturday, Nov. 23 - at Northwestern
  • Saturday, Nov. 30 - vs. Wisconsin

Minnesota has a favorable crossover schedule this season as they don't play Ohio State or Michigan from the Big Ten East Division. The Buckeyes are ranked fifth in the preseason Coaches Poll and the Wolverines are in at No. 7. 

The Gophers also avoid a meeting with No. 19 Michigan State. 

Next Up

Related