Gophers name starters for football opener against South Dakota State

Minnesota returns up to 9 starters on offense and 7 on defense.
Publish date:

TCF Bank Stadium should be rocking Thursday night as the Gophers kickoff a new season filled with high expectations against South Dakota State. 

On offense, Tanner Morgan will start at quarterback and be surrounded by a huge offensive line, two productive running backs in Rodney Smith and Mohamed Ibrahim, and a pair of high-end wide receivers, Tyler Johnson and Rashad Bateman. 

Defensively, the Gophers have some studs, led by potential All-American defensive end Carter Coughlin, and last year's leading tackler, linebacker Thomas Barber. 

Here's how they'll line up for the 8 p.m. kickoff (televised on FS1) on offense, according to the depth chart released by the team


Starter: Tanner Morgan

Backup: Cole Kramer or Jacob Clark

Running back

Starter: Rodney Smith or Mohamed Ibrahim

Backup: Bryce Williams or Cam Wiley

Wide receivers

Starter 1: Tyler Johnson

Starter 2: Rashad Bateman

Starter 3: Chris Autman-Bell or Demetrius Douglas or Harry Van Dyne

Backups: Seth Green, Clay Geary

Tight end

Starters: Jake Paulsen, Ko Kieft

Backups: Bryce Witham or Brevyn Spann-Ford

Offensive line

LT: Sam Schlueter, 6'6'', 325 lbs. 

LG: Blaise Andries, 6'6'', 325 lbs. 

C: Conner Olson, 6'5'', 305 lbs. 

RG: Curtis Dunlap Jr., 6'5'', 345 lbs. 

RT: Daniel Faalele, 6'9'', 400 lbs. 

This is how Minnesota plans to line up on defense and special teams. 

Defensive line

DE: Winston DeLattiboudere

DT: Sam Renner

DT: Micah Dew-Treadway

DE: Carter Coughlin


OLB: Thomas Barber

MLB: Kamal Martin

OLB: Thomas Rush or Braelen Oliver


DB: Coney Durr or Terell Smith or Philip Howard

DB: Kiandre Thomas or Benjamin St-Juste

DB: Chris Williamson

DB: Antoine Winfield Jr. 

DB: Jordan Howden

Special Teams

Special Teams

K: Michael Lantz or Brock Walker

P: Jacob Herbers

LS: 37 Brady Weeks

KR: Rodney Smith or Demetrius Douglas

PR: Antoine Winfield Jr. or Demetrius Douglas

Holder: Jacob Herbers

Next Up


Eagan-based Villaume Industries pays $90K fine in gender discrimination case

After the Minnesota Department of Human Rights found the company refused to hire women, Villaume committed to reforms


11 more people charged in massive magazine scam plead guilty

In total, 63 people from across the U.S. were charged in what prosecutors called the "largest elder fraud scheme in the nation."

Alex Stalock

Wild goalie Alex Stalock claimed off waivers by Oilers

The South St. Paul native will be heading to Edmonton.

Mortensen becker-finn

Shakopee GOPer posts DFL lawmaker's personal cell number on Facebook

Rep. Erik Mortensen has been accused of 'doxxing' Twin Cities lawmaker Rep. Jamie Becker-Finn.

derek chauvin

Minneapolis scraps plan to pay 'influencers' to share information during Chauvin trial

The plan to pay influencers to share city-approved messages during the trials of the officers charged in George Floyd's death drew criticism.


Toddler called 911 and said 'baby' was dead, turned out to be her doll

We're checking into whether the doll is named 'Chucky.'

Target Center

NCAA Women's Final Four 2022 will be held in Minneapolis

The NCAA unveiled the logo for the 2022 Final Four on Monday.


As golf season approaches, book your round now at Dacotah Ridge GC

The stunning course is designed by world-renowned architect Rees Jones.


Pedestrian killed in hit-and-run in St. Paul Sunday evening

The incident occurred near the intersection of Phalen Boulevard and Atlantic Street.


TCF Bank Stadium

Illinois recruit is 3rd to withdraw commitment to Gophers

C.J. West is a three-star defensive tackle out of Illinois.

TCF Bank Stadium

Receiver, returner Demetrius Douglas leaves Gopher football program

It opens the door for someone to step up and contribute significantly.

Cody Lindenberg

Anoka linebacker commits to Gopher football

Cody Lindenberg played outside linebacker and running back at Anoka.

Screen Shot 2019-09-08 at 1.31.57 AM

Double stunner as Gophers rally for double OT win at Fresno State

A crazy finish for the second year in a row between Minnesota and Fresno State.

Jordan Murphy

Gophers open Big Ten tourney against Penn State

They meet up at United Center in Chicago on Thursday.