Here are the 5 finalists for the Minnesota Mr. Basketball award

There are a couple of 3,000-point scorers in the final five.
Publish date:

Five finalists for the 2019 Minnesota Mr. Basketball award were announced Sunday. The finalists are: 

  • Isaac Fink, Springfield
  • Matthew Hurt, Rochester John Marshall
  • Zeke Nnaji, Hopkins
  • Tyrell Terry, DeLaSalle
  • Tyler Wahl, Lakeville North

All five seniors will be honored during the Timberwolves game Mar. 26 at Target Center, with the winner being announced during that ceremony. 

Here's a little bit about each finalists. 

Isaac Fink

He's a scoring machine who earlier this season became the 11th player in Minnesota State High School League history to eclipse 3,000 career points. He's also a talented pitcher who has committed to play baseball and basketball at Augustana University in Sioux Falls, South Dakota. 

Springfield is 23-2 on the season and ranked No. 2 in Class 1A. 

Matthew Hurt

The five-star recruit has yet to announce where he'll play in college, but he's among the best players in the country and is averaging a ridiculous 36.7 points per game and has an outside chance of reaching 4,000 career points. 

According to MNBasketballHub, Hurt has 3,704 career points. 

John Marshall has a record of 20-6 entering postseason play. 

Follow Bring Me The Sports on Facebook

Zeke Nnaji

The star player for the No. 1-ranked Hopkins Royals (22-4) is averaging 24.6 points this season. The 6-foot-11 senior is committed to play in college for the Arizona Wildcats. 

Tyrell Terry

The Stanford-bound point guard is a leader for the No. 1-ranked (Class 3A) DeLaSalle Islanders. He's just 6-foot-1, but he can fly, as evidenced in the video below. 

Tyler Wahl

The 6-foot-7 forward will head to Wisconsin after graduating this spring. He's the leading scorer and rebounder for the fourth-ranked Lakeville North Panthers, who could be destined for a showdown with Hurt and John Marshall for a trip to the state tournament later this month. 

Wahl's father, Tim Wahl, was a Mr. Basketball finalist in 1977 while starring at Minneapolis Southwest High School. 

Next Up

minneapolis police

Police arrest man in connection to deadly Minneapolis hit-and-run

The victim died the scene in north Minneapolis on Friday.

Jordan Greenway

Wild's fast start vanishes in loss to Coyotes

Arizona scored five unanswered goals in a 5-2 loss.

Screen Shot 2021-03-06 at 4.12.00 PM

Police seeking tips in search for road rage shooting suspect

The incident took place in Maplewood last week.

Paige Bueckers

Paige Bueckers lands on Wooden Award list for women's college basketball

The Hopkins grad is the only freshman on the 15-player ballot.

Jamal Mashburn Jr.

Gophers fall under .500 after OT loss to Rutgers

The Gophers are under .500 for the first time this season.

police tape, crime scene

Man arrested for killing of his father in Wabasha County

The 73-year-old man was found dead at a home in rural Zumbro Falls.

Jake Odorizzi

Report: Jake Odorizzi to sign with Astros

The former Twins pitcher is headed to Houston on a two-year deal.

covid-19, coronavirus

South African COVID-19 variant detected in Wisconsin

There have been no cases of the South African strain found in Minnesota.

Brian Dutcher

Could Brian Dutcher be Gophers target to replace Richard Pitino?

Dutcher's contract has a buyout clause that could lead him to Minnesota.



Announced: 10 finalists for the Minnesota Mr. Basketball award

Now this is a group of 10 extremely good, highly recruited athletes.

Here are the 10 Mr. Hockey finalists

Casey Mittelstadt leads a group of 10 Mr. Hockey finalists, including the state's leading scorer from Delano.

Here are the 10 Mr. Hockey finalists

Casey Mittelstadt leads a group of 10 Mr. Hockey finalists, including the state's leading scorer from Delano.


MN high school basketball player putting up 50-point games

The Northland's leading scorer has posted some incredible numbers.


Minnesota prep basketball player transferring to school in Indiana

Treyton Thompson is a 4-star recruit from Alexandria.

We're down to 5 finalists for Minnesota's top senior prep basketball player

Three metro-area stars and two players from greater Minnesota.

Hopkins standout Zeke Nnaji commits to Arizona

The Gophers were not in his final five.