Kevin Garnett elected to Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame

The Timberwolves legend will join the hall's class for 2020.
Kevin Garnett

Former Minnesota Timberwolves forward Kevin Garnett will be enshrined in the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame as part of its 2020 class. Garnett was one of eight finalists for the honor -- all of whom will be inducted later this year.

Garnett is the greatest player in Timberwolves history, coming to Minnesota with the fifth overall pick in the 1995 NBA Draft. He spent 14 seasons with the Timberwolves, but his greatest was the 2003-04 season where he led Minnesota to the Western Conference Finals and won the NBA Most Valuable Player Award.

In all, Garnett was a 21-year NBA veteran, 15-time All-Star, 12-time All-NBA Defensive Team selection and nine-time All-NBA team selection. He also won an NBA title with the Boston Celtics during the 2007-08 season.

Garnett will join a star-studded class that also includes Tim Duncan and Kobe Bryant as well as 10-time WNBA All-Star Tamika Catchings of the Indiana Fever; coach Kim Mulkey of three-time women's NCAA champion Baylor; five-time Division II coach of the year Barbara Stevens of Bentley University; four-time NCAA coach of the year Eddie Sutton; former Houston Rockets coach and two-time title winner Rudy Tomjanovich.

Next Up

Boundary Waters/BWCA

All BWCA visitors will now have to watch three 'Leave No Trace' videos

Visitors left an "unacceptably high amount" of damage last year.


Ten fatal overdoses in past 6 weeks reported in region of northern MN

Law enforcement agencies have issued a plea to the general public.

u.s. district court minnesota - federal court minneapolis

Bracing for security threats, federal courthouses closing in Minnesota

Security is also being ramped up at the state capitol.

N95 mask

3M sues Florida company that sold 10K counterfeit N95 masks to HCMC

The Maplewood company has obtained a temporary injunction against the firm.

vaccine, covid

Walz, Whitmer, and Evers call on Trump Admin. to buy more vaccines

It comes after The Washington Post reported that the country's COVID vaccine reserves have been exhausted.

Karl-Anthony Towns

Wolves-Grizzlies game off, KAT tests postive for COVID

The Timberwolves star was among several players that are dealing with COVID-related issues.

minnesota state fair

Planning for the 2021 Minnesota State Fair is underway

The fair suffered huge financial losses due to COVID-19, but organizers are moving forward with planning "different scenarios" for this summer.

Screen Shot 2021-01-15 at 2.16.44 PM

Heather Brown named as new WCCO 'This Morning' anchor

She will be joining Jason DeRusha on the CBS affiliate's Morning Show.

DPS John Harrington

DPS Commissioner: No credible threats to state Capitol, but ready if something arises

Local and state law enforcement officials have a plan in case a threat arises.