Skip to main content

Matthew Hurt chooses Duke, Gophers don't land any of top-7 Minnesota recruits

It's the second time in three years that none of the top recruits stayed home.

It's was already a forgone conclusion that Matthew Hurt wasn't going to pick the Gophers when he announced his college decision on Friday, but the five-star recruit from Rochester John Marshall did finalize plans to play alongside fellow Minnesotan, Tre Jones, at Duke next season. 

Hurt's decision made it official that Richard Pitino and the Gophers didn't land any of the top-seven Minnesota recruits, according to 247 Sports' rankings

  1. Matthew Hurt, Rochester John Marshall - Duke
  2. Zeke Nnaji, Hopkins - Arizona
  3. Tyrell Terry, DeLaSalle - Stanford
  4. Robert Jones, Prior Lake - Denver
  5. Tyler Wahl, Lakeville North - Wisconsin
  6. Maleeck Harden, Moorhead - North Dakota State
  7. David Roddy, Breck - Colorado State

The Gophers had much more success landing Minnesota recruits in 2018 with Daniel Oturu, Gabe Kalscheuer and Jarvis Omersa all staying home as three of the top-four prep stars, while five-star point guard Tre Jones went to Duke. 

In 2017, none of the top-eight Minnesota recruits stayed home while the 2016 class featured Coffey and Michael Hurt, Matthew's older brother, both picking the Gophers. 

This year's Minnesota recruiting class was very strong with Hurt a five-star player, and Nnaji, Terry and Jones all ranked with four stars. The future is just as bright in the Class of 2020, led by five-star Minnehaha Academy guard Jalen Suggs, who ranks 10th nationally, per 247 Sports. 

Class of 2020: 

  1. Jalen Suggs, G, Minnehaha Academy - 5 stars
  2. Dawson Garcia, PF, Prior Lake - 4 stars
  3. Dain Dainja, F, Park Center - 4 stars
  4. Ben Carlson, PF, East Ridge - 4 stars
  5. Kerwin Walton, SG, Hopkins - 3 stars

None of them have committed yet. 

The Class of 2021 is again primed and loaded with talent, led by five-star East Ridge small forward Kendall Brown (24th nationally), four-star Minnehaha Academy big man, Chet Holmgren, and four-star Alexandria native, Treyton Thompson. 

Next Up

town hall brewery

Town Hall Brewery in Minneapolis closes temporarily

The owner cites the omicron variant and impending vaccine/testing requirements in Minneapolis.

Screen Shot 2020-08-14 at 6.45.53 PM

2 shootings in Brooklyn Park minutes apart; 1 injured

One person was almost hit, while a second person suffered non-life-threatening injuries.

Willmar Police Department

Police: Suspect arrested in Willmar after firing gun at officer

The incident led to a manhunt that lasted into early Sunday morning.

Monti Ossenfort

Vikings lead off general manager interviews with Monti Ossenfort

Several candidates will interview for the job this week.

Payton Willis

Gophers' rally comes up short, lose to Iowa

The Gophers came back from a 23-point deficit but couldn't complete the comeback.


Firefighters respond to smoke-filled cabin to find man asleep inside

A wood stove was determined to be the cause of the smoke.

snow plow msp airport

MSP snowplow drivers reach contract agreement after threatening strike

Teamsters Local 320 reached an agreement with the Metropolitan Airports Commission Saturday.

Kellen Moore

What you should know about the Vikings' head coach candidates

Seven candidates were revealed on Saturday morning.

20211010_Vikings_Lions_REG05_1119 (2)

What is the next Minnesota Vikings GM inheriting?

A look at the strengths and weaknesses of the Vikings' roster and situation


Man dies after being 'punched in the head' during altercation in Duluth

A 46-year-old man is in custody and facing 1st-degree manslaughter charges.


5-star recruit Matthew Hurt to announce decision April 19

The super recruit from Rochester is one of the top players in the country.

Daniel Oturu

Gopher recruits compared to MN prep stars who left

Diving into the last three years of recruiting Minnesota basketball players.

Isaiah Ihnen

Gophers land 4-star German recruit over Tennessee, Texas

He's considered one of the top 100 recruits in the Class of 2019.

Will Matthew Hurt be the 5-star recruit that picks the Gophers?

Hurt started every game and won gold with Team USA at the FIBAs.

Screen Shot 2019-09-19 at 2.53.34 PM

Gopher women land 5-star basketball recruit from Ohio

She's a 5-foot-8 point guard from Columbus, Ohio.

Kadiatou Sissoko

5-star recruit from Paris transfers to play for Gophers

She's transferring from Syracuse to Minnesota.