Minneapolis takes over sole possession of the longest men's championship drought

Minneapolis and Minnesota are lucky to have 4 titles from the Lynx.
Publish date:
Brian Dozier

No city in America with at least three professional men's teams has gone as long as Minneapolis without winning a championship. 

Minneapolis, home to the Vikings, Twins and Timberwolves, hasn't produced a men's title in 27 years, not since the Twins won the World Series in 1991. 

Minneapolis had been tied with Washington, D.C., until the Washington Capitals won the Stanley Cup on Thursday. 

Technically, Minneapolis' streak was always longer – by about three months – since the Twins won the World Series in October 1991 and the Redskins won the Super Bowl, ironically, in Minneapolis, in January 1992. 

Today's Top Stories

"Tony, I love you." Andrew Zimmern reacts to the death of Anthony Bourdain

Matt Kalil finds new excuse for poor play in Carolina

With the addition of the Minnesota Whitecaps to the National Women's Hockey League, Minnesota is now home to six professional franchises. The Wild play their home games in St. Paul and the Minnesota United make their home in St. Paul official next season when Allianz Field opens. 

The Whitecaps have not announced where they will play, but the Wild's practice rink, TRIA Rink in St. Paul, is a possibility. 

Next Up