Skip to main content
Publish date:

NFL's highest community award renamed after Viking great Alan Page

The community award is the players association's highest honor.

The NFL Players Association has bestowed a tremendous honor on Hall of Fame defensive tackle Alan Page by renaming its coveted community award after him

Page, the former stalwart as a member of the historic Vikings "Purple People Eaters" defense, has created an equally impressive reputation off the gridiron as the long-time Minnesota Supreme Court Justice. 

Recognizing Page's career accomplishments and dedication to community service, the NFLPA renamed the APC Award, the highest honor that the players association can award a player, to the NFLPA Alan Page Community (APC) Award. 

"Alan Page has been a stalwart for the players union since his early days as an Executive Committee member as well as a pioneer for social justice during his distinguished 23-year tenure on the Minnesota Supreme Court,” NFLPA Executive Director DeMaurice Smith said in a press release. 

“To this day, Alan continues to serve as a strong ambassador for not only the game of football, but also of the values that we all should hold true – community service, leadership and philanthropy.”

In addition to serving on the Minnesota Supreme Court, Page started the Page Education Foundation, which provides financial assistants to students in exchange for volunteer service in the community. He also co-authored multiple children's books with his daughter.  

“Every NFL player can look to Alan Page as an example on and off the field, which is why it makes perfect sense to have his name on the NFLPA’s highest honor," Smith added. 

Page played 11 seasons with the Vikings during his 15-year career and was named All-NFL six times, went to nine straight Pro Bowls and was named league MVP in 1971. 

Next Up

Sharon Mollerus - duluth - snow plow car

Sunday snowstorm walloping MN's North Shore with huge totals

Just ridiculous snow totals expected the rest of Sunday.

Screen Shot 2021-12-05 at 6.49.03 AM

Saturday snow causes havoc on Twin Cities roads

There were countless spinouts and crashes across Minnesota.

Kirill Kaprizov

Wild win battle of NHL's hottest teams, extend winning streak to six

Kirill Kaprizov delivered a shootout winner to take down the Maple Leafs.

Eric Kendricks

Vikings downgrade Eric Kendricks to out against Lions

The Vikings have also activated Michael Pierce from injured reserve.

u.s. attorney

Minnesotan sentenced after assaulting man with baseball bat

Marshall Wayne Boshey was sentenced to 30 months in prison followed by two years of supervised release.

Target store

Target's gift card discount is back, but for this weekend only

The fine print: for Target Circle members only (but membership is free).

Screen Shot 2020-06-15 at 7.11.05 AM

Minneapolis teen arrested in St. Cloud after fleeing police in stolen vehicle

The vehicle was stolen in a car-jacking in Minneapolis Thursday.

snow, blowing snow

Winter storm warnings issued with heavy snow set to slam MN

Parts of northern Minnesota could see more than a foot of snow, but there won't be much in the Twin Cities.


Alan Page awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom

The Viking great and former Minnesota Supreme Court Justice was among seven honored at the White House on Friday.

Alan Page notable tweet

Twitter doesn't think Alan Page is 'notable' enough to be verified

He's an NFL Hall of Famer and a former Minnesota Supreme Court justice ...

MN legend Alan Page to get Presidential Medal of Freedom

He's a former Viking and current MN Supreme Court justice

Will Alan Page decide Vikings stadium?

If the Vikings stadium mess ends up in the Minnesota Supreme Court, NBC says a decision on funding a new park could come down to the decision of a former Purple People Eater.

NFL Draft

Vikings awarded 3 compensatory picks in 2020 NFL Draft

With 10 total selections, the Vikings now have more ammunition for a draft-day trade.

Vikings' Anthony Harris is the highest-rated safety in the NFL

Pro Football Focus ranks him 21 spots ahead of Harrison Smith.

Herrera honored with Courage Award

Vikings guard Anthony Herrera has been honored by teammates with the 2011 Ed Block Courage Award. Herrera underwent knee and elbow surgeries during the off-season before returning to his starting role. The award is designed to honor players committed to the principles of sportsmanship and courage.

Adrian Peterson is upset with Vikings great Cris Carter

He's angry that Carter ripped him on national TV.