Skip to main content
Publish date:

Rashod Bateman, not Tyler Johnson, named semifinalist for college football's top WR award

Alabama and LSU both have two wide receivers among the 12 semifinalists.

Gophers sophomore wide receiver Rashod Bateman has been named one of 12 semifinalists for the Biletnikoff Award, which goes to the best wide receiver in Division I college football. 

Surprisingly, Bateman's teammate, senior Tyler Johnson, is not among the 12 players vying for the prestigious honor. You needn't look any further than their numbers to wonder why Bateman made it and Johnson did not. 

  • Bateman: 44 catches, 944 yards, 7 TD (21.5 average)
  • Johnson: 59 catches, 900 yards, 9 TD (15.3 average)

Want to blame someone? Blame the hundreds of journalists, commentators, announcers and former wide receivers who vote on the award. The most recent vote was conducted Nov. 11-17, so all of the voters probably saw Bateman go for more than 200 yards in Minnesota's upset victory over then-fourth-ranked Penn State. 

The same voters probably didn't see Johnson come up with big catch after big catch in Minnesota's close loss to Iowa. But they probably did see Johnson's critical drop late in the fourth quarter, because that was the play that caught the most national attention. 

Bateman is certainly as good as pretty much any wide receiver in the country. Here's a list of players he's against for the award. 

  • Rashod Bateman, Minnesota
  • Omar Bayless, Arkansas State
  • Ja'Marr Chase, LSU
  • Anthony Gandy-Golden, Liberty
  • Isaiah Hodgins, Oregon State
  • Justin Jefferson, LSU
  • Jerry Jeudy, Alabama
  • CeeDee Lamb, Oklahoma
  • Michael Pittman Jr., USC
  • James Proche, SMU
  • DeVonta Smith, Alabama
  • Sage Surratt, Wake Forest

What's ironic is that both Alabama and LSU have two receivers in the mix for the award. You may recall that the Nov. 9 game between Alabama and LSU lured in ESPN's "College GameDay" – for the 46th time in Tuscaloosa – rather bringing the live TV production to Minneapolis for the first time ever for the Gophers huge game against Penn State. 

Bottom line: Minnesota remains a college football flyover while the blue bloods get the attention, regardless if Johnson is deserving. 

To be clear, the 12 semifinalists are all putting up impressive numbers. And to be clearer, Johnsons numbers this season are nearly identical to Alabama's Jerry Jeudy, who won the award last year. 

  • Bayless: 73 catches, 1,244 yards, 14 TD
  • Chase: 51 catches, 1,116 yards, 13 TD
  • Gandy-Golden: 64 catches, 1,244 yards, 8 TD
  • Hodgins: 73 catches, 1,021 yards, 13 TD
  • Jefferson: 71 catches, 1,010 yards, 11 TD
  • Jeudy: 64 catches, 867 yards, 9 TD
  • Lamb: 44 catches, 983 yards, 13 TD
  • Pittman Jr.: 82 catches, 1,118 yards, 9 TD
  • Proche: 88 catches, 1,008 yards, 12 TD
  • Smith: 56 catches, 1,026 yards, 11 TD
  • Surratt: 66 catches, 1,001 yards, 11 TD

Also keep in mind that the Gophers have attempted far fewer passes than all of the other teams with a player voted into the semifinals for the award. Imagine the damage Bateman and Johnson would be doing if Minnesota had 100+ more pass attempts. 

Pass attempts:

  1. USC (419)
  2. SMU (397)
  3. LSU (370)
  4. Wake Forest (359)
  5. Arkansas State (355)
  6. Liberty (341)
  7. Oregon State (339)
  8. Alabama (327)
  9. Oklahoma (285)
  10. Minnesota (233)

At the end of the day it's a superficial list because draft evaluators won't care about an award attached to a prospect's name, but they sure as hell will see what Johnson has done to opposing defenses. 

Next Up

Target store

Target unveils deals for 2-day 'Cyber Monday' event

The promotion kicks off Sunday, November 28.

Screen Shot 2021-11-27 at 9.59.30 AM

Edina police warn of recent burglary trend targeting garages and vehicles

The Edina Police Department is increasing patrols in affected neighborhoods in response to the trend.

Screen Shot 2021-11-27 at 9.03.06 AM

Charges: Man shot Uber Eats driver making a delivery in Cottage Grove

Otis Donnell Shipp was charged with second-degree attempted murder after turning himself in on Wednesday.

Screen Shot 2021-11-27 at 7.36.14 AM

Waterfront hotel in Duluth sustains damage in kitchen fire

Authorities estimate the damage at around $75,000.

Screen Shot 2021-11-27 at 7.15.18 AM

Large groups of thieves target 2 Twin Cities Best Buys on Black Friday

It bears similarities to the flash-mob style thefts seen recently in California.

Karl-Anthony Towns

Timberwolves' winning streak snapped at five games

The Wolves' bid for their longest winning streak since 2014 came up short.

Screen Shot 2020-08-14 at 6.45.53 PM

Teen arrested over fatal shooting of 5-year-old boy in Brooklyn Park

Police say the teen was filming a social media video while handling a gun.

Joe Biden

President Biden coming to Minnesota to promote Bipartisan Infrastructure Law

Tuesday's trip follows passage of the $1.2 trillion Bipartisan Infrastructure Deal.

Kirill Kaprizov

Kaprizov gets into the holiday spirit to rout Jets

Kirill Kaprizov's four points led the Wild to a 7-1 victory.

Kirk Cousins

Coller: Cure to Vikings' disrupted season lies in an explosive passing game

The Vikings go to San Francisco knowing that a win would be a huge boost to their playoff hopes.


Did Tyler Johnson hint that he'll return for his senior year?

The All-Big Ten wide receiver had a record-breaking season with the Gophers.

Screen Shot 2019-09-08 at 1.31.57 AM

Double stunner as Gophers rally for double OT win at Fresno State

A crazy finish for the second year in a row between Minnesota and Fresno State.


Is Rashod Bateman the best wide receiver in college football?

The junior-to-be is one of the most hyped wide receivers entering the 2020 season.

Rashod Bateman

Rashod Bateman cleared by NCAA to play for Gophers this season

Bateman provides a big boost to the Gophers in the Big Ten.

Rashod Bateman

Report: After opting out, Rashod Bateman wants to play for Gophers

The All-Big Ten receiver opted out due to health concerns.

Image from iOS

Gophers reach 9-0 with wire-to-wire win over No. 4 Penn State

Tanner Morgan completed 18-of-20 passes for 339 yards and three touchdowns.

Rashod Bateman

Gophers' Rashod Bateman opts out of 2020 season to prepare for NFL

Bateman is projected to be a first-round pick next year.

Tyler Johnson

Tyler Johnson dominates as Gophers win Outback Bowl

Johnson put a bow on his historic career at the University of Minnesota.