Report: MLB, MLBPA agree to 16-team postseason for 2020

The agreement is subject to ratification from MLB owners.
Rob Manfred

According to a report, Major League Baseball and the MLB Players Association have come to an agreement that would expand its postseason to 16 teams for the 2020 season. 

ESPN's Jeff Passan states that the postseason will consist of eight teams each from the American and National Leagues with all three division champions making the playoffs and seeded based on records.

The fun part begins with all three second-place teams also qualifying and seeding based on record with the final two spots going to the team with the best record out of the rest of the field. This means that a team that finishes third in its division could get beaten out by a fourth-place team for the final postseason berth.

Things get crazier as ESPN's Buster Olney reports that the top three teams would get to choose their opponents in a postseason seeding show.

The first round would consist of a best-of-three series with all three games played at the higher seed's stadium. The divisional series would remain a best-of-five series while the championship series would remain a best-of-seven series.

All of this is good and bad news for the Twins. The good is that a move if ratified by the owners, would exponentially increase their odds to make the postseason in 2020. 

The bad? If the Twins don't win the American League Central, they could be stuck in another playoff series with the Yankees even if they wind up as the fourth seed.

Next Up

Jess Peterson

Woman killed in crash ID'd as 'bad ass biker chick' with 'giving spirit'

The 30-year-old died in a motorcycle crash on Oct. 19.

Karl-Anthony Towns

Timberwolves' defense fuels win over Pelicans

The Wolves' have bought in on the defensive end as part of a 2-0 start.

Minnesota Wild

Ryan Hartman's OT goal helps Wild stay undefeated

The Wild improved to 4-0 with a win over the Ducks.

Mar'Keise Irving / Gopher Football

Gophers pound Maryland to stay in Big Ten West race

Four different players scored a rushing touchdown in a 34-16 victory over Maryland.

Father Paul Kubista at St. Mary of Czestochowa

Controversy after Delano priest shares vaccine misinformation in church bulletin

Father Paul Kubista is pastor at St. Mary of Czestochowa Catholic Church.


Mel-O-Glaze, DreamHaven Books robbed at gunpoint minutes apart

The businesses were hit by three robbers just six minutes apart on Oct. 21.

Cambridge house explosion

Explosion destroys house in Cambridge, 5 injured

The explosion occurred early Saturday morning on the 33000 block of Hillary Circle.


Charges: Lyft driver sexually assaulted woman in her home

The defendant is being held on a $100,000 bond.

Pixabay - black bear

Black bear bites professional baseball player in western Wisconsin

The former MSU-Mankato star was bitten in his back.


Rocco Baldelli

How the MLB's postseason format affects the Twins

There are plenty of factors that could play into a unique postseason run.

Target Field

MLB, MLBPA reach agreement to begin 2020 season

Players will report to training camp next week and the season will begin on July 24.

Target Field

Where things stand with a potential MLB return

The owners are sticking with a 60-game proposal.

Rob Manfred

The latest conflicting reports about MLB's chances of having a season

The two sides are reportedly close to starting a shortened season that would begin in July.

Dylan Carlson

What should we know about NL Central teams the Twins face in 2020?

The Twins will face the NL Central for just under a quarter of their season.

Matt Shoemaker

Twins reportedly agree to terms with veteran pitcher Matt Shoemaker

The 34-year-old has agreed to a one-year, $2 million deal pending a physical.

Rob Manfred

Report: MLB could shut down season if COVID-19 management doesn't improve

The shutdown could come as soon as Monday if teams do not follow protocol.

Josh Donaldson

5 Twins named to ESPN's top 100 players list for 2020

The Twins representation was tied for the third-highest in MLB.