Skip to main content
Publish date:

SCSU, UMD and MSU secure No. 1 seeds in NCAA Tournament

This year's Frozen Four will be played in Buffalo, New York.

Sixteen teams have been invited to the Division 1 men's hockey NCAA Tournament, and Minnesota squads took the top three seeds. 

Saint Cloud State, Minnesota-Duluth and Minnesota State-Mankato all secured No. 1 seeds at their respective regionals, meaning there's a solid chance Minnesota could have three teams at this year's Frozen Four in Buffalo, New York – something that's never been done before, let alone Minnesota have two teams in the Frozen Four. 

Here are the matchups in the four regionals.

West Regional (Fargo, ND)

  • No. 1 St. Cloud State vs. No. 16 American International
  • No. 8 Denver vs. No. 9 Ohio State

Midwest Regional (Allentown, PA)

  • No. 2 Minnesota-Duluth vs. No. 15 Bowling Green
  • No. 6 Quinnipiac vs. No. 11 Arizona State

East Regional (Providence, RI)

  • No. 3 Minnesota State vs. No. 14 Providence
  • No. 7 Northeastern vs. No. 10 Cornell

Northeast Regional (Manchester, NH)

  • No. 4 Massachusetts vs. No. 13 Harvard
  • No. 5 Clarkson vs. No. 12 Notre Dame

Saint Cloud State is the No. 1 overall seed for the second straight year and is playing with a chip on its shoulder as they were upset at last year's tournament by No. 16 Air Force.

Minnesota-Duluth, last year's national champion, is the No. 2 seed and won the NCHC Frozen Faceoff on Saturday night in a thrilling 3-2 double-overtime win over SCSU.

Minnesota State-Mankato pulled off a miraculous comeback on Saturday to defeat Bowling Green and is the third overall seed in the tournament. MSU is looking for its first NCAA tournament victory.

Here's the puck drop date and times for each Minnesota matchup

  • SCSU vs. AIC at 6:30 p.m. Friday, March 29 on ESPN3. 
  • MSU vs. Providence at 12 p.m. Saturday, March 30 on ESPNU. 
  • UMD vs. Bowling Green at 3 p.m. Saturday, March 30 on ESPNU. 

Next Up

Gopher Football

Watch: Gophers troll Badgers with 'Jump Around' after Saturday's win

First they took Paul Bunyan's Axe. Then they took their tradition.

Brandon Richart, missing person

Search underway for missing man in Anoka area

Brandon Richart was last seen Nov. 17.

U.S. Bank Stadium

5 teams win first state championships at Prep Bowl

A pair of records fell as the Prep Bowl lived up to the hype.

ashley Carlson

Remains of missing WI mom found in Pine County, MN

Ashley Miller-Carlson was 33 years old.

D'Angelo Russell

D'Lo's late takeover helps Timberwolves win double-OT thriller

Russell caught fire to help the Timberwolves get back to .500.

Gopher Football

Gophers suffocate Badgers, reclaim Paul Bunyan's Axe

Minnesota picked up its first home win over the Badgers since 2003.

Meeker County Sheriff's Office

Boy, 6, run over after falling off trailer in Meeker Co. tree farm accident

He was airlifted to Hennepin County Medical Center with internal injuries.

Target store

Target unveils deals for 2-day 'Cyber Monday' event

The promotion kicks off Sunday, November 28.

Screen Shot 2021-11-27 at 9.59.30 AM

Edina police warn of recent burglary trend targeting garages and vehicles

The Edina Police Department is increasing patrols in affected neighborhoods in response to the trend.

Screen Shot 2021-11-27 at 9.03.06 AM

Charges: Man shot Uber Eats driver making a delivery in Cottage Grove

Otis Donnell Shipp was charged with second-degree attempted murder after turning himself in on Wednesday.



How to watch Minnesota hockey teams in the NCAA Tournament

Here's how you can find them on TV and via online streams.


Minnesota hockey teams have a shot at creating history

Three Minnesota schools might have a chance to reach the Frozen Four.

Gophers projected as a 9-seed in the NCAA Tournament

Minnesota made it to the Big Ten tourney semifinals for the first time in 13 years.

10-seed for Gophers in the NCAA Tournament

They'll play 7-seed Green Bay on Friday.

Screen Shot 2019-03-31 at 8.07.05 PM

UMD headed back to Frozen Four for 3rd straight year

The Bulldogs are two wins away from another national title.