Skip to main content
Publish date:

UMD Bulldogs win 2nd straight college hockey national championship

UMD is the first back-to-back champion since Denver in 2004-05.

For a second year in a row, the University of Minnesota-Duluth Bulldogs are the kings of college hockey. 

The Bulldogs – in the national championship game for the third year in a row – took down the University of Massachusetts 3-0 in Buffalo, New York. The title puts the Bulldogs in rare college hockey company, becoming just the third team since the 1970s to win consecutive championships. 

  • 2017, 2018 - UMD Bulldogs
  • 2004, 2005 - Denver Pioneers
  • 2002, 2003 - Minnesota Gophers
  • 1971, 1972 - Boston University

UMD jumped out to a 1-0 lead in the first period on a power-play goal by captain Parker McKay (16th of the season) just 3:51 into the game, and the lead was 2-0 after two periods thanks defenseman Mikey Anderson's (Roseville, MN) sixth goal of the season. 

A holding penalty on Peter Krieger (Oakdale) put UMass on a power play with 5:02 to go, but again the Bulldogs killed it. Exactly 20 seconds later Jackson Cates (Stillwater) scored his eighth goal of the season to put the Bulldogs up 3-0 with just 2:42 to go. 

The only team to win three straight national titles is Michigan, pulling of a three-peat from 1951-53. 

UMD will have a chance to make even more history next season as no team has reached the national championship game four years in a row. 

Next Up

Karl-Anthony Towns

Timberwolves' winning streak snapped at five games

The Wolves' bid for their longest winning streak since 2014 came up short.

Screen Shot 2020-08-14 at 6.45.53 PM

Teen arrested over fatal shooting of 5-year-old boy in Brooklyn Park

Police say the teen was filming a social media video while handling a gun.

Joe Biden

President Biden coming to Minnesota to promote Bipartisan Infrastructure Law

Tuesday's trip follows passage of the $1.2 trillion Bipartisan Infrastructure Deal.

Kirill Kaprizov

Kaprizov gets into the holiday spirit to rout Jets

Kirill Kaprizov's four points led the Wild to a 7-1 victory.

Kirk Cousins

Coller: Cure to Vikings' disrupted season lies in an explosive passing game

The Vikings go to San Francisco knowing that a win would be a huge boost to their playoff hopes.

unsplash football helmet ground

Judge upholds star QBs suspension for state championship game

Sam Backer, of Chatfield Senior High, won't be allowed to play in Friday's title game.

Screen Shot 2021-11-25 at 7.53.37 AM

Another 5,000 lbs. of goldfish removed from Carver County lakes

It all likely stemmed from people dumping their pets into local waters a few years ago.

Rosaleia Shelton

Appeal to find 19-year-old missing from Bloomington

The teen left her home on Monday afternoon.

hospital, emergency room

Deaths of twin fetuses after woman was shot ruled a double homicide

The woman was shot in the abdomen in mid-September.


UMD will play for back-to-back national championships

It's the third straight year the Bulldogs have reached the national title game.

UMD wins college hockey's national championship

UMD is the only Minnesota team to win the title since 2004.

UMD Bulldogs

After NHL rumors, Sandelin signs extension with UMD

He's now under contract through the 2024-25 season.

Screen Shot 2019-03-22 at 5.31.01 PM

Gophers top Cornell for spot in national championship game

Minnesota is playing in the title game for the 10th time since 2000.

UMD Bulldogs

Report: Anaheim Ducks to interview UMD's Scott Sandelin

Sandelin has led the Bulldogs to two straight national titles.

UMD Bulldogs fall to Denver in college hockey's national championship

Denver claimed their eighth national championship on Saturday.

UMD Bulldogs fall to Denver in college hockey's national championship

Denver claimed their eighth national championship on Saturday.

In Minnesota, VP Pence shows little hockey knowledge

No. The UMD Bulldogs are not a high school team.