USA are Women's World Cup Champions once again

They beat the Netherlands 2-0.
Publish date:
Screen Shot 2019-07-07 at 12.06.18 PM

For the second time in a row, the U.S. Women's National Soccer Team are World Cup Champions.

Jill Ellis' team prevailed 2-0 over European Champions The Netherlands in France, winning 2-0 to secure their 4th World Cup in total and second in succession.

A 61st minute penalty from Megan Rapinoe followed up by a stunning solo strike from Rose Lavelle eight minutes later was enough to send the U.S. into raptures in Lyon.

Here are the goals.

While the USWNT didn't play at their absolute best at times during the tournament, their grit, determination and experienced showed when it mattered as they came through some stern challenges from the likes of France and England en route to the final.

The final itself was a tense encounter in the first half, with both sides entering the break at 0-0 despite the USWNT being the dominant team.

But The Netherlands blinked first, giving the U.S. the in they needed with a VAR-awarded penalty, leading them to the victory they richly deserved on the balance of play.

Follow Bring Me The Sports on Facebook

Next Up