UPDATE: With a day to go, Red Wing leads contest to win $500K for downtown fixes

Five finalists were picked out of 14,000 applicants.

Last week, Red Wing was named one of five finalists in a contest to win $500,000.

At this point, people are voting in Small Business Revolution's contest to determine which city will get the money. And as of Wednesday – with one day left in the contest – Red Wing is in the lead.

It's not by much, though. Bristol Borough, Pennsylvania had been in the lead all week, but now it's in second place.

"This contest remains very, very tight across the rankings. And as last year taught us - it is still anyone’s game," Small Business Revolution posted to Facebook.

Voting closes Thursday at 9 p.m. EST – that's 8 p.m. in Minnesota. So if you want Red Wing to win, be sure to cast your vote soon. You can do that by clicking here. If you get an error message, that's because the site is getting more traffic than it can handle.

You can vote once a day.

The original story from Feb. 10 is below.

A southeastern Minnesota city is a finalist in a contest aimed at revitalizing small towns.

Red Wing was named one of five finalists – out of 14,000 applicants – in Small Business Revolution's contest. The winner will get $500,000 to help small businesses and make improvements in downtown Red Wing, city officials said in a YouTube video.

The city will also be featured on season two of the "Main Street" series.

To win, Red Wing needs to get the most online votes between now and Feb. 16 at 8 p.m. (you can vote here). The winner will be announced Feb. 22, KARE 11 says.

This video explains why Red Wing thinks it deserves the $500,000:

Small Business Revolution – Main Street | Red Wing, MN | Finalist from Small Business Revolution on Vimeo.

The other finalists are Bristol Borough, Pennsylvania; Georgetown, South Carolina; Kingsburg, California; and North Adams, Massachusetts.

The contest is in its second year. Last year, Wabash, Indiana, won.

Next Up

Taylor Rogers

Twins Rumors: Taylor Rogers could draw interest despite injury

The left-hander was placed on the injured list on Tuesday.


Severe storm watch: Apple-sized hail, 75 mph winds possible

A watch has been issued by the National Weather Service.

Screen Shot 2021-07-27 at 7.28.06 PM

Slain Red Lake officer identified as husband, father-of-four

Police say he was shot while responding to a report of a suicidal male who possibly had children the house.

Go Fund Me - Adam Richard Johnson

Remains in Mississippi mark 4th discovery of man's dismembered body parts

Officials on Tuesday confirmed the remains found July 4 are those of Adam Johnson.

Facebook - GoGo dog stolen vehicle -  St. Paul Police Department

Missing dog GoGo found dead in owner's stolen vehicle 3 days later

The vehicle was reported stolen with GoGo inside on July 18

Flickr - face masks covid pole - Ivan Radic

The 14 MN counties with 'substantial or high' COVID-19 transmission

The CDC says everyone in these areas should wear a mask in indoor public places.

Pexels - woman grocery shopping mask covi

CDC: Masks recommended in places with 'substantial or high' transmission

This new guidance applies to everyone, regardless of vaccination status.

Screen Shot 2021-07-27 at 1.10.29 PM

WATCH: Vikings Live with Matthew Coller: Welcome to training camp

Vikings Live with Matthew Coller is a new Vikings show that streams Tuesdays.

YouTube - Minnesota DNR - watering tree

Tips for watering trees during severe drought, sprinkler restrictions

How can you keep your valued trees healthy? Just follow these simple steps.

police tape, crime scene

Minnesota saw record number of murders in 2020, BCA says

The BCA released its annual Uniform Crime Report on Tuesday.

Flickr - Red Lake Nation sign - Ken Lund

Red Lake police officer fatally shot on Tuesday

The officer was reportedly shot near Redby.


Red Wing didn't win that $500,000 prize

Red Wing was one of five finalists in the contest.

Red Wing didn't win that $500,000 prize

Red Wing was one of five finalists in the contest.

Actually, you have until 11 p.m. to vote for Red Wing to win $500K

The website kept crashing, so now you have a few extra hours to vote.

Actually, you have until 11 p.m. to vote for Red Wing to win $500K

The website kept crashing, so now you have a few extra hours to vote.