Skip to main content

Another DFLer, Sen. Kathy Sheran, announces retirement


A DFL Minnesota state senator has decided not to run for re-election – just the latest in a string of legislators who've decided against returning to the Capitol.

Sen. Kathy Sheran, whose 19th District represents parts of southern Minnesota, announced Monday she will retire from the Legislature at the end of her term, in late 2016.

Sheran, of Mankato, has served in the Senate for 10 years.

She chairs the Senate's Health, Housing and Human Services Committee, and has taken the lead on a variety of issues during her tenure. She was lead author of the indoor smoking ban in restaurants and bars that was approved in 2007. 

Sheran has also worked on reforms to the Minnesota Sex Offender Program and the state's child protection system.

Before being elected, Sheran worked as a nurse for some 30 years and was an assistant professor of nursing at Minnesota State University, Mankato.

The St. Paul Pioneer Press notes that Sheran is one of six senators who've already announced their plans to retire or who have resigned – three DFLers and three Republicans.

Here's the Pioneer Press's list of all the Minnesota legislators not running for re-election.

Sheran's Senate district is heavily Democratic, and she was unopposed when she ran for re-election in 2012, the newspaper reports.

As for who might decide to run for her seat, Bluestem Prairie predicts former state Rep. Terry Morrow is a strong possibility. Morrow served six years in the House, from 2007-2013. He is currently leading Congressman Tim Walz's re-election campaign.

Next Up

mpd aldi incident screengrab

Video shows MPD officer grab, throw Aldi customer

The department says the matter was referred to the Office of Police Conduct Review.

US Sec Defense Flickr - Joe Bide Nov 11 2021

Biden lays out wintertime plan to curb COVID's spread

It comes as the U.S. reported its second case of the omicron variant.

Willow River DOC

MN Dept. of Corrections offering $5K bonuses as it seeks to hire 200

The DOC is offering hiring bonuses for new employees and for referrals.


3rd federal medical team to join COVID-19 fight in Minnesota

There are more than 1,500 people with COVID-19 admitted to Minnesota hospitals.

hospital, emergency room

Driver killed after other motorist crosses into opposite lane

The head-on crash occurred early Thursday, just north of the Twin Cities.

shot clock

MSHSL approves shot clock for Minnesota varsity basketball

Shot clocks will be required at all varsity games beginning in 2023-24.

Redmons Popcorn Colbert screengrab

Popcorn shop featured on 'The Late Show' has to close 2 days later

A county inspection after the national TV appearance found code violations.

covid, vaccine

Minnesotan infected with omicron was vaccinated, had booster shot

The Hennepin County man received his booster shot in early November.



Facing primary challenge, St. Paul DFLer announces retirement

Tim Mahoney is stepping down after 22 years in the Legislature.

Dick Cohen

Another long-serving DFLer to retire amid primary challenge

Sen. Dick Cohen has held his seat since 1987.