Skip to main content

Another state lawmaker says he won't run again, leaving for a job in NC

  • Author:
  • Updated:

A Minnesota state senator who eyed the governor's mansion in 2014 says he won't run for re-election this year.

Sen. Dave Thompson announced Tuesday this current term (his second) will be his last.

He put a copy of the press release on Twitter.

The Republican from Lakeville (District 58) called serving in the state senate (which he'll have done for six years by the time he leaves) "an honor and a privilege."

"Over the last five years I have done my best to help make our great state an even better place to live, work, and raise a family," he says in the statement, adding he'll "miss serving the people of Dakota County" but looks forward to his next challenge.

He and his wife are moving to North Carolina at the end of this term, where he'll open a new corporate office for Renters Warehouse.

A lawyer and former radio talk show host, Thompson was first elected to the senate in 2010. In 2012, he won re-election by getting 57.6 percent of the vote over his DFL opponent (who finished with 42.28 percent).

Thompson serves on two committees currently: State and Local Government and Taxes (the latter of which he is part of the Tax Reform Division).

Here's a look at the bills Thompson was the lead or co-author of in 2015 – it ranges from planning for a possible zip rail from Rochester to the Twin Cities, to new protections around electronic communication and data searches, to abolishing or tweaking the Metropolitan Council.

On Twitter, the Republican Liberty Caucus of Minnesota said it's losing "another great endorsed senator," then thanked Thompson for his time.

Thompson is the latest in a string of state lawmakers to announce they won't seek re-election.

The Pioneer Press has a list of such politicians.

Next Up

storm, severe weather, derecho

Hail and tornadoes possible Thursday in Minnesota, Iowa, Wisconsin

Storms are expected to fire along a warm front draped across southern Minnesota.

Screen Shot 2021-04-23 at 8.02.52 AM

Bde Maka Ska pavilion construction begins next week

The former lakeside food stand, home to Lola on the Lake, caught fire in 2019.

Pixabay - laptop computer dark screen

Undercover child sex sting sees 4 men arrested in St. Louis Park

One of the men is being held as he's in a position of authority of power over children.


New Raptor Center data shows 'substantial drop' in bird flu patients

However, the virus remains a serious health threat for birds.

Screen Shot 2022-05-18 at 6.16.34 PM

Suspect kills himself after shooting woman and baby at Fargo restaurant

The suspect was found dead in a stolen vehicle in Minnesota.

CK Kyle Kasio

Charges: Guest stabbed three men as they slept in Albert Lea

Investigators believe the suspect is related to all three victims.

Kandiyohi County Courthouse

2 charged for fentanyl overdose death of 19-year-old

The-19-year-old died from a fentanyl overdose last month.

storm, severe weather

Severe thunderstorm watch: Hail, 65 mph gusts, tornadoes possible

The watch is just north of the Twin Cities metro area.

Lake Minnetonka

The staggering rise of Minnesota's most famous lakes this spring

Imagine dumping Lake Minnetonka into Lake Superior 47 times.

Marijuana, cannabis

Minnesota Senate shoots down latest marijuana legalization attempt

The bill didn't receive the required votes for further consideration on Wednesday.


Minneapolis wants to use $1M in federal cash to plant 200,000 trees

The goal is to have these trees planted by the year 2040.


Longtime State Senator Linda Higgins won't run again

The Minneapolis DFLer was first elected in 1996. Higgins will finish her current term but won't seek re-election. Minneapolis already lost two other veteran DFLers this year when Linda Berglin and Larry Pogemiller resigned from the Senate.

Retire from Congress? Nope, Collin Peterson says he's running again

Peterson is reportedly ready to run for a 15th term in Congress.