Big names chosen for board overseeing Mayo's big expansion


Heavy hitters from the worlds of politics, government and business are among Gov. Mark Dayton's choices to sit on the Destination Medical Center Board, which will oversee the ambitious development of the Mayo Clinic.

MinnPost reports the governor gets four appointments to the eight-member board. Dayton selected his own chief of staff, Tina Smith for a six year term. He also chose Minneapolis Mayor R.T. Rybak, former CEO of Wells Fargo Minnesota James Campbell and Susan Rani, president of Rani Engineering. The four must be confirmed the the Senate.

There will be four additional board members, including Rochester's mayor and city council president, a choice selected by the Olmsted County board and Mayo's choice, former Medtronic chief executive Bill George.

The board will oversee Rochester's Mayo Clinic expansion, including $455 million in state funds over 20 years. The project also will get $3.5 billion from Mayo Clinic, $128 million from the City of Rochester and Olmsted County, and an estimated $2 billion from private investors.

Next Up

Chris Hovan

Charges: Ex-Viking Chris Hovan drove drunk with child in the vehicle

His blood-alcohol concentration was more than three times the legal limit, charges say.

Gov. Tim Walz

Gov. Tim Walz to address Minnesotans about COVID-19 on Friday

The number of COVID-19 cases at long-term care facilities have been increasing after outbreaks at the facilities slowed 'significantly' over the summer.


Pandemic pushes need for cybersecurity and I.T. professionals to forefront

University of Wisconsin-Superior is helping meet demand with online master’s programs

Screen Shot 2020-12-03 at 5.01.58 PM

Body found floating in Minnesota River in Shakopee

Efforts to identify the deceased are underway.

Hennepin County Government Center

Judge finds suspect guilty in 1991 murder of young Minneapolis woman

A 58-year-old man from South St. Paul, who was 29 at the time, has been found guilty of stabbing a 20-year-old woman

northfield community education center

Northfield school fires employee who allegedly gave melatonin to infant

It's against district policies to give a child anything without a parents' permission.

state hockey tournament, mshsl

MSHSL approves 3 calendars to start winter sports as soon as Dec. 21

The start date will depend on whether the state shutdown is lifted.


Drug overdose deaths up 31% in the first half of 2020

Overdose deaths started to increase sharply in March, which coincides with the state-ordered lockdown for the COVID-19 pandemic.

los ocampos

Video: Vehicle crashes into St. Paul restaurant

The fire department is on scene addressing a gas leak.

covid-19, coronavirus

Latest county infection rates are sky-high throughout Minnesota

Kandiyohi County is one of the hardest hit counties in the state.