Cheerios recall: Some boxes, labeled gluten free, may contain wheat


General Mills is recalling nearly two million boxes of Cheerios because the cereal was labeled gluten-free but actually contains wheat.

The Minnesota-based company announced the voluntary recall Monday. It affects regular Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios that were produced at its Lodi, California facility during two weeks in July.

"An isolated incident resulted in wheat flour being inadvertently introduced into the gluten-free oat flour system," the company said. "As a result, the products may contain an undeclared allergen – wheat – in products labeled as gluten-free."

The recall affects an estimated 150,000 cases, or 1.8 million boxes of cereal from the Lodi plant – that amounts to four days of production of original Cheerios and 13 days of production of Honey Nut Cheerios, according to CNBC.

Products containing wheat can cause illness or severe reactions for people who have wheat allergies or celiac disease. Products containing wheat can also cause illness or discomfort for individuals with gluten intolerance.

The company said it will remove the affected boxes from warehouses and store shelves.

Consumers can check to see if they've purchased any of the recalled cereal boxes by looking for the "Better if used by" date, and the LD plant code, which indicates the cereal came from the Lodi plant. This tweet from the company shows where to check for that information.

Consumers can contact General Mills at 1-800-775-8370 to get a replacement or full refund.

No other Cheerios varieties or General Mills cereals are affected by the recall.

General Mills announced earlier this year that all five of its Cheerios varieties were transitioning to gluten free.

Next Up

Screen Shot 2021-09-16 at 6.56.30 PM

Severe thunderstorm watch issued for central MN, part of Twin Cities

A line of storms is making its way across the state.

Flickr - Enbridge Line 3 Palisade - Lorie Shaull

DNR orders Enbridge to pay $3.32M over Line 3 environmental violations

The pipeline company breached a groundwater aquifer, causing water to flow uncontrolled into a trench.

Eric Kendricks

Eric Kendricks misses practice, lands on injury report

The star linebacker headlines a lengthy list ahead of Week 2.

WIkimedia commons covid vaccine moderna

3 Twin Cities counties reach 16+ vaccination rate of 80%

More than 8 in 10 residents of that age group have gotten at least one dose.

Flickr - Burlington store exterior -

New Burlington location opens in Minneapolis Friday

To celebrate, the company is donating $50K to a neighborhood group and nearby school.

Top Ten Liquors Minnetonka rendering

Top Ten Liquors plans another Twin Cities location

The high-end wine bar and grocery space would take over a former Champps.

London Michael Bean go fund me

Teen charged with fatal shooting of 12-year-old London Bean

A warrant has been issued for the 18-year-old's arrest.

Minnesota Wild

Wild announce national TV broadcast schedule

The Wild will have 13 games nationally televised this season

suni lee

St. Paul's Suni Lee named to Time's list of 100 Most Influential People

Lee won three medals at the Tokyo Olympics, including an all-around gold.

Dunn County WI homicide suspect

1 arrested in quadruple killing, with 'armed and dangerous' suspect at large

The four victims were found in an abandoned SUV in rural Wisconsin.

Screen Shot 2020-06-15 at 7.11.05 AM

Rape, incest suspect from Indiana is caught in St. Cloud

The 40-year-old was found in an apartment building.

Rep Tim Miller mn leg

MN rep calls upholding of TX abortion law 'great news for America'

Rep. Tim Miller also outlined a new abortion-related bill he plans to introduce.