Skip to main content

Emergency executive order signed for storm damage relief

  • Author:
  • Updated:

On Wednesday, Gov. Mark Dayton signed an emergency executive order to declare an emergency caused by a series of severe storms. The declaration is the first step toward getting federal disaster assistance.

KMSP reports the order covers damage caused by severe storms and flash floods that walloped a large section of the state between June 20-26., leaving significant amounts of tree debris behind and damaging large swaths of utility infrastructure systems. More than 600,000 homes and businesses were left without power.

MPR reports that the declaration covers more than two dozen Minnesota counties affected by recent storms, from west central Minnesota to parts of the Twin Cities metro, extending to southern and southeastern counties and Aitkin County in the northeast.

The order means that county, state, and FEMA teams can make damage assessments, which will start on Monday.

Dayton's declaration includes the following counties:

- Aitkin
- Benton
- Big Stone
- Douglas
- Faribault
- Fillmore
- Hennepin
- Houston
- Kandiyohi
- McLeod
- Meeker
- Mille Lacs
- Pine
- Pope
- Renville
- Ramsey
- Sibley
- Stearns
- Stevens
- Swift
- Traverse
- Wilkin
- Winona
- Wright

Next Up

Screen Shot 2022-01-27 at 9.15.45 PM

Buckeyes crash the glass, fend off Gophers

E.J. Liddell dominated in the paint to help No. 16 Ohio State.

nicolas blouin flickr fire hose

Fire departments decry drivers running over hoses, endangering crews

It happened in two separate Northland cities this week.

All Energy Solar - Bringing Panels to Roof

All Energy Solar reaches growth milestones with higher goals yet for 2022

Minnesota solar company continues to thrive through building a strong workforce

Royal Canadian Mounted Police maintoba crossing crop

Authorities ID family found frozen to death at MN-Canada border

They're still trying to unravel how they got there and who might have helped them.


Mayo Clinic specialist: 'The omicron surge is not over'

Experts expect a rapid decline over the next month followed a period of calm.

police lights

Charges: Man in stolen Jeep leads police on 110 mph chase

He crashed into a light post near the Capitol and then fled on foot, the complaint says.

kua dog go fund me

Puppy in back of stolen Audi found, reunited with owner

The 4 1/2-month-old bullmastiff had been missing more than a week.

Fuzzy Gerdes Flickr Franks Diner Kenosha

WI's best 'hole-in-the-wall' diner is Guy Fieri-approved

Come for the "garbage pile," stay for ... even more breakfast food.


Minnesota's pre-pro women's soccer team unveils name, logo

The new name and look was unveiled after community owners voted on a winner.

fentanyl DEA

21 people charged in connection to drug trafficking in northern MN

Police say the organization sold more than 10 pounds of heroin and fentanyl in northern Minnesota.

Band Box Diner Courtney Mault Flickr

MN's 'best hole-in-the-wall diner' is, sadly, currently closed

MSN recently published its pick for best diner in each state.