Feds designate 24 Wisconsin counties natural-disaster areas, 5 in Minn.


The U.S. Department of Agriculture approved a natural disaster declaration for 24 counties in Wisconsin where heavy rains and snow led to crop losses.

The Star Tribune reports that the counties are generally in west-central Wisconsin and along the eastern border. The areas experienced multiple thaws and refreezes, along with heavy rain and snow, from January through late May.

Gov. Scott Walker applied for the disaster assistance, Fox 11 reports, which includes emergency loans for eligible farmers. "We appreciate the continued attention and assistance to help our farmers deal with the crop losses," Walker said in a statement.

WBAY-TV has a list of all the counties, including five adjoining counties in Minnesota: Dakota, Goodhue, Wabasha, Washington and Winona.

With the designations, farmers who meet certain requirements are eligible for assistance, including emergency loans.

Next Up